Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 40

Thread: Got my Nomad Back with the new LCD!!

  1. #1
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default Got my Nomad Back with the new LCD!!

    Thanks Jonjandran this thing looks AWESOME!! I expected it to be nice but DAMN. You can actually read the text in Phantasy Star IV, and the fast action in Sonic is no match for this screen! I recommend to ANYone with a Nomad to get this done. I will report back on the battery life as soon as I get a full charge on the AA's and run em' down, I suspect it will be much better than 1.5 hours haha.

    Before and after pics of my Nomad (thanks Jon for taking the pics):

    http://jonjandran.com/pics/jonjandran/DSC06597.JPg

    http://jonjandran.com/pics/jonjandran/DSC06598.JPG

    And the pictures don't do it any justice, it looks SOO nice. jonjandran

  2. #2
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,664

    Default

    Glad I could be of service

    I really wish pics or even video would do this mod justice...but they don't.

    Once you've seen the mod however there is no going back. I have Nomads sitting here without the mod and won't even turn them on, but I have found myself playing the Nomad with the screen and battery mod ALL the time now.

    And I won't even pick up my Genmobile or RetroGen anymore. The Nomad with screen mod is sooooo much better.

    And despite what people may think I am doing this more to help people get back into Genesis gaming on the go then to make money. I make so little per hour for doing this I would be better off working more hours on my job. But when I see the results and hear how happy it makes you guys it's worth it. (cliche and sappy i know )

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) megasdkirby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bayamon, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    4,787
    Xbox LIVE
    megasdkirby
    PSN
    megasdkirby

    Default

    Ah crap, I forgot to send payment!

    Let me send it now before I forget. But the screen looks AWESOME!!!!!!!!
    Game Wants: http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=121467
    Completed US CIB Collections: Atari 7800, Neo Geo Pocket Color
    Quote Originally Posted by portnoyd View Post
    Jesus christ. Half the internet is truly retarded.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I would be very interested in this-- how much does it cost?

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    joshnickerson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    2,919
    3DS Friend
    0473-8317-6182

    Default

    Wow. That's pretty damn sweet. Great job!

    DP Feedback | Game Blog of Awesomeness! | Seeking out these GCN kiosk discs: Jan 2002, 21, 25, & 29

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) PentiumMMX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    A secret fortress of doom
    Posts
    1,347
    PSN
    PentiumMMX

    Default

    I wish I had a Nomad to have this mod preformed to; that is awesome

  7. #7
    Reticulating Splines BetaWolf47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    2,754

    Default

    Sonic looks shorter under a fluorescent light.
    Selling gaming accessories. Click

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Friend of Sonic View Post
    I would be very interested in this-- how much does it cost?
    It cost me $65 for the LCD mod. You pay for the shipping to him, he pays to ship back. PM him for more details. He's very quick to reply.

  9. #9
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    Well I ran it down, and it lasted only 1 hour and 5 minutes?? Not sure what's going on, but that's about how long it lasted before. Maybe my batteries are getting old (plus I've heard that rechargeables never last as long as regular batteries).

    It was actually pretty interesting, the battery light was on for 20 minutes, before it would only stay on about 5 before dying. Also, when it died, the Nomad shut down but it was still enough juice for the LCD to be on and bright.. lol. So it appears that the actual mainboard is what takes up a majority of the juice, and maybe not the LCD, but every little bit helps.

    I really just need to get the lithium ion battery pack mod. Then I think I would be 100% happy with the Nomad. Also, I think my charger is charging the batteries too fast, they are suppose to be slow charged and the charger does it in like 1.5 hours, when it's supposed to be 4-6 hours. So I wonder if the charger is the culprit. If anyone else gets ONLY the LCD mod done, let me know what kind of battery life you see.

  10. #10
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856

    Default

    Try timing a set of some fresh alkaline. Rechargeable batt cells degrade somewhat with each charge. I want the screen + the Lith-ion. Going to have to save for it though.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  11. #11
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    Yeah I am gonna time it with some regular alkalines and see what happens. I would imagine I'd get twice the time out of them, I hope.

    Problem with rechargeables also, they don't give the system the proper juice it needs. Each AA is 1.25 V instead of 1.5V.

  12. #12
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856

    Default

    Voltage isn't the big deal as far as longevity... It's the amperage.

    Voltage is like mph, amperage is like the gas tank. That's why the volts are slightly reduced, to extend run time on a small tank. At least, that's how I'd analogize it, excluding resistance factors. The analog I was told (including resistance) involved plumbing. I'm no plumber, but I do drive a car.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  13. #13
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    378
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default re

    i bined two nomads that had broken lcd sceens now i feel sick
    before this person even started the lcd replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by Icarus Moonsight View Post
    Voltage isn't the big deal as far as longevity... It's the amperage.

    Voltage is like mph, amperage is like the gas tank. That's why the volts are slightly reduced, to extend run time on a small tank. At least, that's how I'd analogize it, excluding resistance factors. The analog I was told (including resistance) involved plumbing. I'm no plumber, but I do drive a car.

  14. #14
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    What was that? Didn't quite understand what you were saying.

    Squeezed some more life out of it, I think my batteries may just be on their last legs, I did buy these a good 3 or 4 years ago, and have used them numerous times. I am currently trying to "re-learn" them.

    I am now finally getting used to the screen, I don't even want to imagine what it was like before. I think it's about as nice as a DS screen, probably the phat DS, not quite as bright as the DS Lite, but definetely bright enough.

  15. #15
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856

    Default

    Paraphrased/Translation: They threw away two Nomads with broken LCDs before they knew about screen replacement/improvement. Now they're blowing chow-chow and wish they hadn't.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  16. #16
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,548

    Default

    Quick questions:

    What's the resolutions of the old / new LCDs? I hadn't thought about it before, but apparently the TurboExpress screen shows fewer pixels than the system has internally (fewer than the PC-LT for instance), so that matters. It makes me wonder if even higher-resolution screens aren't possible for even better display.

    There appears to be more playfield visible at the top and right of the screen.

    How much did it cost?

    Quote Originally Posted by raylydiard View Post
    i bined two nomads that had broken lcd sceens now i feel sick
    before this person even started the lcd replacement
    Now maybe you'll hang onto old stuff before trashing it...they don't make these anymore.

    In any case, thanks for making mine slightly more valuable!

    Besides, didn't the TV output still work? Dumb, dumb.
    Last edited by Ed Oscuro; 03-01-2010 at 03:29 PM.

  17. #17
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    378
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    yeh but i did keep some bits and bobs like the buttons and and the mainboard
    where the carts go in one did not power on i did try the 7805 reg
    i powered up but not for long i am looking now for some faulty on ebay
    i did buy 10 consoles once fix about 8 of of the 10 so then i made my money back

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Oscuro View Post
    Quick questions:

    What's the resolutions of the old / new LCDs? I hadn't thought about it before, but apparently the TurboExpress screen shows fewer pixels than the system has internally (fewer than the PC-LT for instance), so that matters. It makes me wonder if even higher-resolution screens aren't possible for even better display.

    There appears to be more playfield visible at the top and right of the screen.

    How much did it cost?


    Now maybe you'll hang onto old stuff before trashing it...they don't make these anymore.

    In any case, thanks for making mine slightly more valuable!

    Besides, didn't the TV output still work? Dumb, dumb.

  18. #18
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,548

    Default

    No comment.

    Back on topic: Also, were those screens taken at the very beginning of the game, without touching the control pad? I just noticed that there is actually a bit more space visible on the left of the playfield on the original screen than there is now. Overall it's obviously an improvement.

  19. #19
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,664

    Default

    Yes same screenshot control pad not touched.

    Well the manufacturer says they are 640x480 but I would bet there are really 320x240.

    Anywho it seems to have more pixels top to bottom and slightly less left to right.

    The original screen was 160x144.

  20. #20
    Great Puma (Level 12) megasdkirby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bayamon, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    4,787
    Xbox LIVE
    megasdkirby
    PSN
    megasdkirby

    Default

    No wonder it looks much cleaner/clearer.
    Game Wants: http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=121467
    Completed US CIB Collections: Atari 7800, Neo Geo Pocket Color
    Quote Originally Posted by portnoyd View Post
    Jesus christ. Half the internet is truly retarded.

  21. #21
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    Hmm I never really noticed that, but if you look at the Sonic Icon on the bottom of the screen, where it shows how many lives he's got left - there is a bit more space under it with the new screen. Left to right I don't notice a difference in the pictures. I guess there really is a bit more play field.. cool, another plus for the mod.

    I noted in another thread, that I got about 3 hours on those same rechargeable AA's this last round. I think using them (they were in storage for a long time), and learning them has helped a lot.

    It's crazy, cause the low battery light was on for an hour and a half - when before the batteries alone would last about that long - TOTAL.

    Anyone else getting in on this mod?

  22. #22
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Oscuro View Post
    Quick questions:

    What's the resolutions of the old / new LCDs? I hadn't thought about it before, but apparently the TurboExpress screen shows fewer pixels than the system has internally (fewer than the PC-LT for instance), so that matters. It makes me wonder if even higher-resolution screens aren't possible for even better display.

    There appears to be more playfield visible at the top and right of the screen.

    How much did it cost?


    Now maybe you'll hang onto old stuff before trashing it...they don't make these anymore.

    In any case, thanks for making mine slightly more valuable!

    Besides, didn't the TV output still work? Dumb, dumb.
    Now now, be nice. The mod cost $65 dollars, you ship to jonjandran, he ships it back. Quite fast I might add!!

  23. #23
    Insert Coin (Level 0) jetblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    do you have the old screen by any chance oldskool? i need one for my own transplant of sorts.

  24. #24
    Great Puma (Level 12) jonjandran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Pine Mountain , Georgia
    Posts
    4,664

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jetblue View Post
    do you have the old screen by any chance oldskool? i need one for my own transplant of sorts.
    Oh really , you can solder the 60 some ribbon wires. this I gotta see.

  25. #25
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jetblue View Post
    do you have the old screen by any chance oldskool? i need one for my own transplant of sorts.
    No, I don't actually. I didn't even think to ask for that back.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •