Thread: AV modding a Famicom

Insert Coin (Level 0) Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

Default AV modding a Famicom

Alright so I've modded my famicom to use AV and I got the audio working fine, but the video isnt as easy. I tried following this schematic on http://jpx72.detailne.sk/modd_files/fc/avmod.htm but I dont know where to solder the resistors and compasitors. It looks like they solder to the 7805 but I donbt know where to put them exactly or how the video signal would get through then. Im still new to modding. I did try connecting them directly to pin 21 and I got video, but it looks pretty dark. Also I simply put the composite video directly onto pin 21 and I got the same result. so if someone could sent me a pic of this mod or tell me where to solder what. please help me

I jus tried connecting a a933 transistor to it and now it looks like the fami wont even turn on. I connected the emitter to the 300 resistor the base to pin 21 andthe collector to ground.

I jus measured pin 40 and Im still getting the +5 volts

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    62 Posts

They are connecting to pin 3 of the 7805 voltage regulator. That is the +5 in the schematic. They are also using pin 2 of the regulator for ground but you can use any ground point on the PCB. I'm having trouble finding a pinout of your transistor to really help you further. That video amplifier schematic almost seems too simple and I would think that the transistor you use would make a difference. I don't know...maybe it works just fine.

Also, if the Famicom stopped working then my guess is that you shorted out the regulator.
    "Game programmers are generally lazy individuals. That's right. It's true. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Since the dawn of computer games, game programmers have looked for shortcuts to coolness." Kurt Arnlund - Game programmer for Activision, Accolade...