Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about Original Famicom and Famicom AV

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Question about Original Famicom and Famicom AV

Hey guys, quick question. I'm going to be buying a famicom and disk system soon and I was wondering what would be better and why; a av modded original Famicom, or the newer Famicom AV

thanks

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

Skirting your question for a moment, regardless of the choice, the best option you have would be not to buy a Famicom Disk System at all. The FDS is such a piece of shit. More retro gamers need to speak up about it. I'm a tech savvy guy, able to repair faulty consoles and the like, but the FDS will bring you one headache after another. Famously, people will tell you that the proprietary disk belt that is required to run the system is prone to snapping on its own and then needing replacements which come from 20 year old dwindling stocks. That's only the start of the FDS's problems.

Much more problematic is that the read header is prone to misalignment on its own, rending the thing unable to read any FDS game, and requiring the precision of a surgeon to get properly aligned again. Then there's the fact that FDS games are stoned on unprotected magnetic tape that is over two decades old. If even the smallest spec of dust contaminates the belt, that sector will become corrupted, which renders the entire disk useless. Slowly but surely, this happened to EVERY SINGLE FDS game I owned. I even bought a copy of Metroid that was brand new, sealed in its package - old stock as its called - and when I opened it and played it, guess what, a sector went bad, and the disk was useless.