Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is the Toploading NES worth it?

Cherry (Level 1)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Is the Toploading NES worth it?

So, I have been battling my NES for a few months now, and sadly, I think she is about to hit the dust. My question for you all is this: is the toploading NES that much more reliable? I know people often say it is, but why?

FPGA arm-based system Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    21 Posts
    PSN
    bb_hood99

Quote Originally Posted by ZP3 View Post
    So, I have been battling my NES for a few months now, and sadly, I think she is about to hit the dust. My question for you all is this: is the toploading NES that much more reliable? I know people often say it is, but why?
    I think the front-loading NES has gotten the reputation for being unreliable, but really its just the pin connector that either gets dirty or worn out. The pins in the original nintendo can easily be replaced, but I dont think thats the case with the toploader. The pins in toploading Nintendos will eventually wear down with use. I have found multiple non-working toploading nintendos so they will not last forever. It seems like the pins in original nintendos go bad from abuse or excessive use without cleaning. Original Nintendo pins in good condition will last a long time as long as you clean all the games.

Also you gotta keep in mind that Toploaders do not have AV video, just RF. If you switch over to a toploader nintendo you might be disappointed with the video quality. You can have them modded for AV out but thats extra work.

Pac-Man (Level 10) Rickstilwell1's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    PSN
    TheGameCollector

AV Famicom + converter = the best combo possible.
    [quote name='Shidou Mariya' date='Nov 17 2010, 10:05 PM' post='4889940']