Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about game jobs (EB,GS, etc.)

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Questions about game jobs (EB,GS, etc.)

Hey guys, I know some of you work at Gamestore like EB Games, Gamestop, and Gamecrazy. I just have a few questions about these places.

Right now I'm an assistant Kindergarten/preschool teacher, and have been for almost 5 years. I also run the afterschool care for 5-12 year olds as well. However, the jobs been getting pretty stressful lately and I only make $9 an hour. I'm getting older now (28) and just can't afford to live working this job, and the stress doesn't seem worth it anymore, as much as I've liked it, I'm burning out. I have a college degree in animal science but there aren't any jobs I'm interested in in that field now.

I've been thinking about getting into a game indusrty related job for a while now. I've been into the game scene since about 1986, and have always loved the industry itself, not just playing the games. I go to game stores all the time, we have about 15 in the area that I visit at least once a month. I get every gaming magazine. I read all the online reviews, message boards, and know all the upcoming games. In stores I end up answering more customer questions than the employees can. Basically, my hobby is homework for a game job.

What I'd like to know is how it is to work in a game store. How much do you make, enough to earn a decent living? How about sales reps, assistant mgrs, and managers? How's the work enviornment?

I also thought about applying to be a merchandiser, the guys that go around to stores and help with displays and promos and stuff. I'd say I've been to enough stores over the years to know what works in a store and what doesn't.

So does anyone have any advice or information?
    I'd appreciate it, thanks!
    Xbox Live: Ikari Warrior
    PSN: IkariWarrior

My collection: http://users.ign.com/collection/jaysweet99