Thread: MMX8 and short-sighted views about "retro"-gaming

Banned

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default MMX8 and short-sighted views about "retro"-gaming

Tonight I started playing three stages from MMX8, and I have to say it is a GREAT game.

Basically the gameplay is unchanged from the first Mega Man from 1987. The classic series and the X series stayed "true to its roots," which is a great way of saying it didn't evolve. Sure, new moves, new characters, new upgrade abilities were introduced consistently from MM 2 on, but the basic gameplay stagnated; and that is a good thing.

X8 and all the other classic MM and MMX games are a great look into the past of gaming. It is the only series that saw regular releases without evolving: unlike Gradius or R-Type, the series never got interrupted. In almost 17 years we got 16 (!) games, every year a new old MM. The series is unique. I can't think of any other franchise who got regular releases and stagnated. In todays industry, MM is the only one who represents a past which is still alive.

The new X game is tough, it is a fantastic sidescroller, unlike the somewhat unfortunate X7. The action and level design is exceptional and can compete with the best games in the series. It delivers frantic and tense action which only a 2D action/sidescroller can provide.

On IGN I read this second opinion after a lukewarm first opinion:

X8 plods along trying to be retro -- trying to remind me of why I liked the series and my youth. It's trying not to change so that I don't casually disregard it as different and forget my A button, B button heritage. Unfortunately, the end result doesn't stir up some golden remembrance of why gaming was once so good, but instead reminds me plainly of why I never play my stupid NES anymore.