PDA

View Full Version : 3DO Battery + Storage Help



IntvGene
04-20-2003, 02:04 PM
I am storing my 3DO away for awhile, and I was wondering if I should worry about the system battery. I took the battery out of the Saturn before storing it, but I was wondering if I should/can remove the system battery on the 3DO. I have the Panasonic FZ-1 model, and I am worried about forgetting it, then the battery leaking and damaging the system.

Any help would be appreciated.

Captain Wrong
04-20-2003, 07:18 PM
It's just one of those button type batteries, right? I haven't seen one of those button types leak, but I guess it all depends on how it's being stored.

You'd probably be ok with it in there, but better safe than sorry.

IntvGene
04-21-2003, 03:08 PM
Part of the problem is that I don't even know where the battery is located! It's not like the saturn, where it is right in the back. So, I have no idea what it looks like or what type it is.

There used to be some pics of the insides of the 3DO, but I can't find them anymore... Any more help?

omnedon
04-21-2003, 05:58 PM
Are you "sure" it has a battery? I thought it used NVRAM to save, which is Non Volatile RAM. The non volatile means it stores data with no power.

I have a "dead" 3do I could dissect for battery research if you want (I'm curious too) but my personal FZ-1 isn't broke, so I aint' fixing it! :D

IntvGene
04-21-2003, 06:09 PM
Are you "sure" it has a battery? I thought it used NVRAM to save, which is Non Volatile RAM. The non volatile means it stores data with no power.

I have a "dead" 3do I could dissect for battery research if you want (I'm curious too) but my personal FZ-1 isn't broke, so I aint' fixing it! :D

No, I am not sure at all! I just assumed that it used a battery like the Saturn did. Thanks for the info. Now, I can safely put it in storage without worrying about it. :D