PDA

View Full Version : Sega Nomad control problems



Gamereviewgod
05-21-2003, 07:08 PM
Ok, I stepped on my Nomad early in the morning when the phone rang (a damn tele-marketer to boot) and cracked the screen. I really never had any problems, but it became annoying. I ordered a new screen off of E-bay but had trouble getting it off. I got mad and opened it up and popped it off. Put everything back together but now the controls won't work AT ALL. No start, a, b, c, x, y, z, up, down, left, or right. Any ideas why? It looks like I put everything back together right, I hope...

omnedon
05-23-2003, 07:43 PM
Haven't been in a nomad. Make sure the button contacts weren't put back in backwards. Also check to see if some cable (ribbon or otherwise) is disconnected (or hopefully not torn). Those things tend to be pretty tricky in there. My guess is a re-assembly error.

Good Luck!

Gamereviewgod
05-25-2003, 03:07 PM
It was the ribbon. Must've came loose. Now, the stupid thing won't take any power from the ACX adapter port. I've tried 2 different adapters (one Sega, one 3rd party) and all I get is a barely visible low battery light. I can occasionaly get it to work, but the slightest movement cuts it off. It seems to me that the AC adapter is real loose once it's in the port and won't stay still. Any ideas on this one??

omnedon
05-25-2003, 04:33 PM
If you have a multimeter, you could try a continuity test from the exterior of the AC adapter plug to the interior circuit board.

Gamereviewgod
05-25-2003, 09:51 PM
If you have a multimeter, you could try a continuity test from the exterior of the AC adapter plug to the interior circuit board.

Wha???? Sorry, I'm by no means a techie. I was hoping it was just something stupid like the ribbon problem....Guess not. Any other ideas???

omnedon
05-26-2003, 09:20 AM
Does the power improve if you jiggle the connector?

Gamereviewgod
05-26-2003, 09:29 AM
Yeah, that's about the only way it will work. The problem is, moving the cord again shuts it right back down. That means I have to stay comepletely still to play it.

omnedon
05-26-2003, 02:04 PM
Sounds like the connector is loose. It "may" be something you can 'snap' back into place, but it is far more likely it needs to be resoldered in.

Sorry. :/