PDA

View Full Version : Anyone looking for a C64-SX 'Executive' version?



AB Positive
10-23-2009, 12:50 PM
I heard these were in pretty good demand for some 64 collectors and the usual caveats...

1) Not mine

2) I'm not bidding (it's not an Amiga :D )


buuuuut if you want it (http://cgi.ebay.com/COMMODORE-SX-64-Executive-Computer-VINTAGE-Working_W0QQitemZ380170916984QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH _DefaultDomain_0?hash=item5883f3d478#ht_1905wt_752 ) it's only 99 cents with decent shipping rates.

Soviet Conscript
10-23-2009, 12:53 PM
i picked up one myself a few months ago. got it free off craigslist. unfortunitly it doesn't work. fairly sure the problem is the c64 side and not the monitor. :( oh well i guess thats what you get for free. still a neat thing to have

98PaceCar
10-23-2009, 01:24 PM
i picked up one myself a few months ago. got it free off craigslist. unfortunitly it doesn't work. fairly sure the problem is the c64 side and not the monitor. :( oh well i guess thats what you get for free. still a neat thing to have

What is it doing? Most C64 failures are pretty easy to fix, though I will say that taking an SX-64 apart is an exercise in patience.

Soviet Conscript
10-23-2009, 01:42 PM
What is it doing? Most C64 failures are pretty easy to fix, though I will say that taking an SX-64 apart is an exercise in patience.

it powers on and the monitor lights up. goes all white. played with the brightness and thats not the problem. i tried putting a disk in and typeing the load command and nothing, thus why i think it may be the c64 side thats shot. i've opened it up and looked around for anything thats popped out of place but everything looks good on a visual check

98PaceCar
10-28-2009, 10:46 PM
it powers on and the monitor lights up. goes all white. played with the brightness and thats not the problem. i tried putting a disk in and typeing the load command and nothing, thus why i think it may be the c64 side thats shot. i've opened it up and looked around for anything thats popped out of place but everything looks good on a visual check

Here's a pretty good site for debugging C64 issues. Some SX specific stuff. Maybe it will help point you in the right direction.

http://personalpages.tds.net/~rcarlsen/cbm/sx64.txt

With mine, I had to do ram as soon as I got it, but it would come up. Just had the wrong number of bytes free. Not fun to repair, but not impossible.

Kaboomer
11-04-2009, 11:44 PM
I had one a while back and regret getting rid of it. If I find one near me again I will def go after it. It's great. Cartridge slot and joystick port. Great system and takes up alot less room than a C64, monitor and disk drive.

staxx
11-04-2009, 11:56 PM
I found one on craigslist a while back and this is a great system to have in my collection. This is basically the first portable computer, though I was surprised at how heavy it is. Too bad there isn't a way to plug the C64 cassette recorder to it to play tape games.

Flack
11-06-2009, 01:27 PM
Is there a tape game out there that hasn't been converted to floppy disk?

The only reason I don't use my SX64 exclusively is because it's awkward to use with the 1541 Ultimate. The device sticks straight up in the air unsupported, and since the SX's internal drive defaults to 8 you either have to change it every single time to a 9 via software, or open it up and add a switch with is more effort than I'm willing to put in. I may just add a jumper to the drive's power cable so I can disable the internal one that way.