PDA

View Full Version : help: Amiga WHDload problems



Soviet Conscript
11-02-2009, 10:18 PM
i wasn't sure to post this here or the technical section but i think this area was more appropriate. i have a post over at the English Amiga forums but i figured a post here couldn't hurt and may help other like me with the issue of useing WHDload. i also know theres alot of Amiga fans on this forum.

anyways i have a 1200T and i've been trying to get WHDload running with mixed results.

after installing the program itself i found i could not install any of the patches for games because i would get a "source not found" error. someone suggested i try preinstalled games.

after doing this i find some of the games work, most don't. i usually get this error

DOS - Error #205
(object not found)
on reading "***"

the *** varies depending on the game (example - it came from the desert the "dshell" is missing, for maniac mansion its "maniac"

also i can't seem to open any of the readme files or manuals that come with any of the preinstalls

i'm thinking maybe my A1200 rom image is corrupt? it seems the real early games run (ones that use the 1.3 rom image???)

*update* tried a diffrent 3.1 rom image and 1.3 image and get the same DOS errors, of the 28 games i've attempted to run only 6 have ran through whdload.

black crypt and smash tv will not run through whdload but do run when booted up via disk so thats 8 games total out of 28 i have gotten to work if we count that. a few games ex wax works just go to black and never even give me an error. just freeze up the entire amiga. and a few others acually start and then promptly crash ex - R-type II and Drakken

anyways, any help would be appriciated.

Arkhan
11-03-2009, 12:48 PM
are you unzipping things ON the amiga? If you dont the file names get trashed up.

Soviet Conscript
11-03-2009, 02:52 PM
are you unzipping things ON the amiga? If you dont the file names get trashed up.

!

no, i was unzipping them on the pc and then burning them to disc. that may make sence why its not working...thanks. i'll try buring some files unzipped. do i need a unzip utility to burn as well to put on the Amiga? any reccommendation?

Arkhan
11-03-2009, 03:10 PM
if you use crossDOS you can get this unzipper program for amiga. I really cant remember the name since its been awhile though.


but you have OS3.9 so unzippery is built into the OS

so, go go go !

Soviet Conscript
11-03-2009, 04:34 PM
havn't tested them all yet but so far they are working and i can now read the "readme" files and other such text docs. thanks Ark, sometimes its just the simplest oversights.

Arkhan
11-03-2009, 07:49 PM
havn't tested them all yet but so far they are working and i can now read the "readme" files and other such text docs. thanks Ark, sometimes its just the simplest oversights.


well, hopefully it all works out then! Its good when the solution is a simple oversight.