PDA

View Full Version : Running 95-XP on vista



Fuyukaze
01-10-2010, 03:18 AM
My problem is simple but the solution escapes me. I've got a bunch of games that run on win 95 up to XP. Currently I use vista. Anyone know a way I can get them to run on it? Deleating my OS realy isnt going to help much as my current comp is a laptop and I'm not realy crazy over deleating my OS.

otoko
01-10-2010, 05:00 AM
A virtual pc is what you should do here. I use this free one (http://www.virtualbox.org/). Several other companies have virtual pc programs.

Arkhan
01-10-2010, 05:21 AM
I second the virtual box solution.

Works perfect

I use it with Win7 sometimes when I need to.

Kitsune Sniper
01-10-2010, 11:06 AM
Virtualbox, VirtualPC (free from Microsoft) and VMWare (free for single use). You just have to install the OS yourself and hunt down the drivers.

Do note, however, that you won't be able to use anything that uses 3D Graphic Acceleration. Or if it runs in software mode, it'll be slow as hell.

phreakindee
01-10-2010, 11:14 AM
Virtual PCs run great when set up properly, and I have used each of those listed above.

However, for games they're horrible. Even with VMWare, where you can change some video settings to "upgrade" the video, most games all run horribly or not at all. 3D games don't work and those in software mode are not worth it either. It's a choppy mess. Vmachines are really for emulating old apps, not games yet. I have yet to find something that nicely runs old 9x games on a new system, short of dual-booting the system. For Windows 3.1 games you can use DosBox.

With Glide games you can use a Glide wrapper though, and that will get many games to work on a new OS. I use The Glide Wrapper (http://www.zeckensack.de/) for games like POD, MDK, Carmageddon 2 and other 3DFX games.

Kitsune Sniper
01-10-2010, 11:22 AM
I've found that they're good enough to run many games with simple graphic routines - like shareware stuff.

vandy160890
01-10-2010, 01:21 PM
I would recommend you to use the software named VMware that can rum multiple OS & you can easily play your games taht run from 95 to XP. This will surely fix your problem.

Damaniel
01-10-2010, 03:30 PM
VMWare Workstation 7 supports 3D acceleration up to DirectX 9, Shader Model 2.0 (I don't know if VMWare Player does), at least if the client OS is Windows XP. I don't know how something like Crysis will run, but I'm using it to run Windows games on Gametap that don't have 64-bit support (my VMWare setup is running Windows XP 32-bit on a Windows 7 64-bit system).

I only have a couple 3D games installed to test -- Psychonauts and Fate: Undiscovered Realms. Neither is very taxing on a regular computer, but both were running at their maximum framerates -- Fate was running at 60fps continuously. I don't know what the required hardware is to make it run at OK speeds, but my hardware is fairly recent (Intel Core 2 Quad 9550, Geforce GTX 285, 8GB RAM) so YMMV.

Kitsune Sniper
01-10-2010, 03:39 PM
You're absolutely right, my mistake. Apologies.

Still, Windows 95/98 doesn't have it, and that's the problem. I don't need VMWare to run modern games on XP (my OS)... :( A lot of early games don't like XP at all.

Jorpho
01-10-2010, 03:52 PM
Apparently VirtualBox has D3D support for XP guests now as well, thanks to WineD3D. SwiftShader apparently works in Win9x guests, though.


My problem is simple but the solution escapes me. I've got a bunch of games that run on win 95 up to XP. Currently I use vista. Anyone know a way I can get them to run on it?Maybe you could go into some detail as to what games you want to run?

scooterb23
01-10-2010, 05:30 PM
Maybe you could go into some detail as to what games you want to run?

I'll second this. As I just went on a major rush through my old CD binder, and reinstalled a bunch of older games on my vista laptop, and everything I tried still worked just fine.

MarioMania
01-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Can Virtual PC run Doom & any other old DOS game??

Kitsune Sniper
01-10-2010, 08:35 PM
Can Virtual PC run Doom & any other old DOS game??

Dude, you're better off using DOSBox, or one of those source code ports for Doom.

Baloo
01-10-2010, 09:10 PM
Yeah, I have Windows 7 and I can't run my old PC games from 98 to XP and it's really getting on my nerves.

MarioMania
01-10-2010, 09:46 PM
Dude, you're better off using DOSBox, or one of those source code ports for Doom.

What's the difference with DosBox & Virtual PC if I run old DOS games??

Jorpho
01-10-2010, 10:28 PM
What's the difference with DosBox & Virtual PC if I run old DOS games??In a few (very, very few) circumstances Virtual PC might be able to run some things that DOSBox can't. However, Virtual PC is likely going to be slower, and it's also much more difficult to configure.

Arkhan
01-10-2010, 11:44 PM
Yeah, I have Windows 7 and I can't run my old PC games from 98 to XP and it's really getting on my nerves.

Diablo 1 and 2 work for me on Win7. I was thrilled!

its a tossup and a buncha fiddling to get it to work though

Fuyukaze
01-11-2010, 01:39 AM
Thanks for all the help. Trying one out tonite to see if any run my import software. Something tells me I'm in for a hell of a fun time.

By fun time I mean painfull experience. Hopefully it works well cause I'm realy missing my touhou fun time.