PDA

View Full Version : Commodore 64 Cartridges - How to get them to work?



sixwayshot
02-26-2010, 09:57 PM
It seems simple enough - put a cart into a console, and it should start. That hasn't worked with my Commodore 64... (Then again, the C64 is my first real experience with old 80's computers, so things are a bit different)

I've got four games for the console: Star Wars, Frogger II, Pac Man, and Congo Bongo. I can't get any of them to work. I don't have any sort of documentation for them and I can't seem to find any online.

Is there a specific command to get the carts to run?

PingvinBlueJeans
02-26-2010, 10:42 PM
You don't load them via command prompt...you simply need to have the cart in the slot when you turn the computer on. Try that. ;)

sixwayshot
02-26-2010, 11:15 PM
D'oh. I'll clean the carts up and see if they work.

Arkhan
02-26-2010, 11:43 PM
yeah. also check and see if any of the connectors are bent.

Mayhem
02-27-2010, 11:23 AM
Clean the cartridges, label is upwards in the slot on the C64. If you still don't get anything, might be something wrong with the cart slot on the computer. Do you get a black screen or the standard blue boot-up when you try them?