PDA

View Full Version : Street Fighter II DOS Trouble



Glitchologteam
08-29-2010, 03:25 PM
PROBLEM SOLVED

Hello there. I would need help about the DOS version of Street Fighter 2. I have 2 problem

1. I can hear only sound and no music (even if i click on ''SF2'' located on the floppy disk drive).

2. When I click on ''Game Start'' the game is asking me something like this

'' Please enter word (random number) on page (random number) line (random number)''

I do not understand why it does this (The instruction manual is garbage)

I have the Original game, 3 1/2 Floppy Disk

Thanks in Advance

todesengel
08-29-2010, 04:33 PM
Can't help you with the sound issue but the '' Please enter word (random number) on page (random number) line (random number)'' message is an old anti-piracy measure. You need the instruction booklet to get passed that, just look up in the manual what the message is asking you and then type the answer in.

Jorpho
08-29-2010, 05:57 PM
Are you using DOSBox? Because you probably should.

Glitchologteam
08-29-2010, 07:23 PM
Thanks you so much todesengel, I can now play the game!

But I still have the Music issues. In the game option, I have put Soundblaster Card but I only have sound during fights, no music. I can also enable PC Speaker but the music and sound quality is slugglish


Are you using DOSBox? Because you probably should.

I am playing the game on a 2001 Intel Pentium 3 Computer with Windows 98 as the OS. Im able to play my other DOS game without issues (ChessMaster4000 Turbo edition made in 1994) but it is a CD Game

Street Fighter II is my only floppy game thought

Also note: The game take much less time to load than some video Ive seen about this game. I don'T know if it mean something important

todesengel
08-29-2010, 07:25 PM
Thanks you so much todesengel, I can now play the game!
No problem, glad I could help you out.

Jorpho
08-29-2010, 10:08 PM
I am playing the game on a 2001 Intel Pentium 3 Computer with Windows 98 as the OS. Im able to play my other DOS game without issues (ChessMaster4000 Turbo edition made in 1994) but it is a CD Game

Street Fighter II is my only floppy game thoughtThe advantage to DOSBox is that at least there's a much smaller list of things that could need changing.

Can you get music in other DOS games? Perhaps SFII has some configuration utility you need to run?

calthaer
08-30-2010, 01:56 PM
Windows 98 is probably far enough removed from the DOS for which Street Fighter II was designed that it needs to be running on a system with 6.22 (and not 7.0). Even back then, I had problems getting Sound Blaster support in some games with Windows 7.0. IIRC, I was running SF2 Turbo Edition for DOS on a 6.22 system back in the day.

Jorpho is correct - you should be using DOSBox...unless you're going to go with a full-on 6.22 system. But who wants to fool around with MEMMAKER when you have DOSBox?

A Black Falcon
08-30-2010, 03:13 PM
Most DOS games work on any version of DOS, so no, I doubt that the fact that it's Win98 (which is running on top of DOS of course) could be the reason. I've played a lot of DOS games on my older WinME machine, and the vast, vast majority work just fine -- the only ones that don't are ones with speed problems because they weren't designed to run on fast CPUs, mostly.

The two things I can think of are either that the game doesn't have both SFX and music in game (this did happen in some games), that you can choose one or hte other somewhere, that there's a configuration option you're missing, or that there's a problem...

I just found a copy of the cracked version, that has the long load times that Glitchologteam evidently doesn't have, but does have both music and SFX ingame in Soundblaster mode, in DOSBox that is. Haven't tried it on my old computer yet, but I'd think it would be the same, they generally are. Maybe the actual game is different from the crack? Or are there multiple versions of it?

Or, returning to a question above, are you sure that your sound card in that computer works in DOS? Just because you get audio in Windows doesn't mean that it's working in DOS, after all, the two are different. With my WinME machine, the default WinME drivers for the SBLive! Value card in it didn't give me any SB sound in DOS. I only got that sound when I installed the Win98 drivers that also came with the computer.

CRTGAMER
08-30-2010, 04:14 PM
WIN98 is good but can interfere with DOS memory and sound drivers. A separate removable bootable DOS 6.22 drive is the best way. That is if you can get all the drivers working on your PC. CHOICE command in CONFIG.SYS and AUTOEXEC.BAT can be used for different memory configurations. HIMEM, HIEMS and CLEAN BOOT.

Glitchologteam
08-30-2010, 04:22 PM
I tried to play the game on both the Windows desktop and MS-DOS (going here when you are about to close the computer , there is a option going to MS-DOS


My Chessmaster4000 turbo edition play fine, with the sound and music.

For now, im gonna try another game I have found recently, Warcraft orc and human and ill check if the game has both sound and music


I would really like to play the game on a old computer and not using the emulator, but If i dont have choice...¸

Also, I remember installing Warcraft 1 on my XP computer and use a dosbox emulator. Having wasted some hour on it, I have never been able to have sound or music.
EDIT: Warcraft 1 cannot play music at all. By checking the Computer System, my Windows 98 is a deuxième édition (probaly the same thing as the Second Edition)
EDIT 2: I don't really know how to use DOS except for installing and playing game.
I REALLY HOPE that there is a way to play the game with music on my old WIN98SE , I really HOPE so

Jorpho
08-30-2010, 05:01 PM
Windows 98 is probably far enough removed from the DOS for which Street Fighter II was designed that it needs to be running on a system with 6.22 (and not 7.0).

WIN98 is good but can interfere with DOS memory and sound drivers. A separate removable bootable DOS 6.22 drive is the best way.No, no, no. Running something from an MS-DOS session within Win9x might have problems, but reboot into MS-DOS mode and you might as well be running 6.22 again.

@Glitchologteam: Try the setblast utility from http://sirjohn.de/hotu-community/pub/tools/sound/ . Can you get that to work properly?

Also, is your card really a genuine Sound Blaster? Do you have the actual Sound Blaster drivers?

Glitchologteam
08-30-2010, 05:15 PM
Im trying to send the file to my old computer but the old comp say he don't regonize the file.

I attemped to tranfer it from a floppy disk since my old comp do not have any internet acess

How can I know if i have sound blaster drivers?, Im not very good with the windows computer

EDIT: Im able to run the Setblaster program, but it seem to only test sound, and not music
EDIT 2: strange, since ive run the setblaster program, any game I attempt to run on DOS lock up at the beginning

CRTGAMER
08-30-2010, 05:31 PM
Why boot WIN98, exit to reboot DOS mode for a crippled DOS 7 version? A dedicated DOS 6.22 drive still the best quickest way. This is workable if you have a removable dedicated bootable DOS 6.22 drive.

I have separate removable drives of:
1. DOS 6.22 with WIN Workgroups
2. WIN98 SE
3. WINXP PRO Service Pack 3

The main DOS headache is getting drivers to work on a computer much newer then DOS, in particular the Sound Drivers.

This should be in your AUTOEXEC.BAT
The SET SOUND points to Sound Blaster directory, in this case the Sound Blaster AWE32.

SET SOUND=C:\SB32AWE\CTSND
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6

Glitchologteam
08-30-2010, 05:36 PM
how the heck can you do this?, Like ive said earlier in the post, I don't know much about DOS and Windows

CRTGAMER
08-30-2010, 05:53 PM
how the heck can you do this?, Like ive said earlier in the post, I don't know much about DOS and Windows
WIN98 METHOD

Run DOS games outside of WIN98 enviroment. Windows may be interfering with DOS sound drivers.

Right now the no cost way with what you have as Jorpho pointed out. Exit WIN98 not just prompt, but to reboot to DOS. F8 during intial bootup might get you there quicker. Choose DOS, from that point you are at command line.

CD\SB16 Whatever folder your soundcard drivers are in.
SETSOUND as you did earlier.

After a reboot, again to DOS mode not WIN98.
Now CD\SFII Folder where your streetfighter is installed.

DIR/W/P Find and then type in the EXE file

------------------------------

Dual Boot partitions - Don't bother, its a pain.

------------------------------

DOS 6.22 METHOD

Same sound card procedure above but a dedicated removable internal IDE Drive. Actually two trays needed. One for DOS6.22, other for your Windows. DOS 6.22 and sound card drivers reinstalled. Now you have a drive completely clean of any Windows.

http://www.techfuels.com/attachments/optical-drives/2134d1213176247-5-25-mobilerack-ide-removable-hdd-docking-de-removable-hdd-docking.jpg

Glitchologteam
08-30-2010, 06:05 PM
I don'T evne know what my sound driver folder is, I have been searching for a while and I didn't found it

this is getting to get complicated and I do not understand anything. Is there a simplier with more instruction way to acheive what I want , MUSIC in the game? Now, I cant even select soundblaster in the option of sf2 without the game crashing

CRTGAMER
08-30-2010, 06:52 PM
Did you DOS reboot? Very important to be rebooted to DOS.

You should have a c:\ prompt.

DIR/W/P will list the entire drive.

Since you have WIN98, The sound driver folder might be in the C:\PROGRA~1 directory.

CD\ to the appropriate directory. For subfolders CD (Space and Name).

Look for SB or or SBPRO or SB16 or SB32AWE folder.

A Black Falcon
08-30-2010, 07:13 PM
Again, what sound card do you actually have? It's a very important question, for DOS audio.

Jorpho
08-30-2010, 07:15 PM
Why boot WIN98, exit to reboot DOS mode for a crippled DOS 7 version?Sir, DOS 7 is not the least bit crippled!
this is getting to get complicated and I do not understand anything. Is there a simplier with more instruction way to acheive what I want , MUSIC in the game?You really might be better off with DOSBox.

Let's start with something simple: What exactly is in your autoexec.bat and config.sys right now?

Glitchologteam
08-30-2010, 07:18 PM
Semone at another forum helped me throught webcam to Run Street fighter II on DOSBox and everything worked. When I wanted to try warcraft however, the sound worked, but still not the music

Jorpho
08-30-2010, 07:22 PM
Semone at another forum helped me throught webcam to Run Street fighter II on DOSBox and everything worked.It would be very helpful if you told us what you did.

Have you tried running the SETUP.EXE in your Warcraft directory and selecting a music card?

Glitchologteam
08-30-2010, 07:33 PM
I have posted the same thread on another forum. Just like some answer ive got from you, he wanted me to use DOSBOX and he told to use my old computer instead for game made for windows 95 between 1995 and 1998

with the webcam, he told exactly how I could play street fighter 2 or any other floppy by DOS

What I needed to do was the following

1. I went on the street fighter floppy disk 1 and I have installed the game on C in a folder named DOSgame

2. on DOSBOX, I have type: mount c c:\dosgame\
3. c: to change z: to c:
4. CD sf2
5. sf2
6. went in the option, and sound blaster was working fine

for warcraft 1 , I did the same but the music is still absent (Im thinking that my WArcraft disc has a problem

This is what im doing right now, so far , I have not anything that work for the music

EDIT 2: Well Jorpho, you were right since your first post, im so sorry to have make you waste time
Dos Box was the solution
I will use my Old computer for windows 95 game
I just do not have choice to play with DOSBOX, im not gonna try to track down another old computer for that
Thanks again everyone!

kedawa
08-30-2010, 10:38 PM
Is Warcraft on CD? If so, it might require the analog audio cable that was standard for CDROM drives long long ago.

Fantastic_Duck
08-31-2010, 03:09 AM
I think it's fair for me to ask...
If you're gonna play this classic, why oh why in the name of Tiny Tim play the MS DOS version?

Jorpho
08-31-2010, 06:24 AM
http://www.scary-crayon.com/games/sf2pc/

CMA Death Adder
09-09-2010, 06:56 PM
I think it's fair for me to ask...
If you're gonna play this classic, why oh why in the name of Tiny Tim play the MS DOS version?

That was my question, too. I remember "back in the day" when we were all patiently waiting for Street Fighter II to be brought to the PC. And when it finally arrived, we played it for 2 seconds before screaming, "WHAT THE HELL IS THIS CRAP?!" - and immediately afterwards, went back to playing the buggy (but still superior) unauthorized South Korean port, Street Fighter II IBM.

Super Street Fighter II Turbo, at least, got a very good port for DOS. I'd recommend playing that version, if any, because the other ports are beyond awful.