PDA

View Full Version : odyssey 200 hookup question!



xfactor1984
07-08-2003, 06:00 PM
I have a question about the odyssey 200 from magnavox, I just got one in pretty good condition in the boxc and everything, but ihave a question on how you hook it up. There are 2 hookups, the power ac adaptor, and the one that goes directly into the tv, but the one that hooks up directly into the tv looks kinda funny, it isn't like a rca adaptor like the atari 2600 that hooks into a game switch but just a real funny looking adaptor that i have never seen before. Do I need an older tv or a special game switch, or will it not even hook up to anything new? Please help!

Achika
07-08-2003, 07:52 PM
You need a special game switch. It uses the same one as the Odyssey 2 (one (of) the models with hardwired silver controllers)

xfactor1984
07-08-2003, 10:07 PM
Thanks a bunch! Bow I have one more question: where can I obtain this game switch??, do they sell them at radioshack or something? Or can i get one on ebay or any other internet retailer? Thanks!

FABombjoy
07-09-2003, 08:01 AM
You could also replace the cable with a standard piece that has RCA ends. The Odyssey units that I've seen have standard RCA connectors on the circuit boards.

xfactor1984
07-09-2003, 06:59 PM
cool, thanks! Now how do you do that, and what do i have to buy, I heard its pretty simple though.

FABombjoy
07-09-2003, 07:20 PM
cool, thanks! Now how do you do that, and what do i have to buy, I heard its pretty simple though.

Most Odyssey pongs have a single, large screw in the base that you can remove to put batteries in and whatnot. If you look inside, you'll see that the video cable is attached to the circuitry with a plain RCA connector. Just get another thin RCA cable (like a speaker or video cable) and attach it to the Odyssey's guts. Then, connect the other end to your manual switchbox. BAM! Yer in business.

xfactor1984
07-09-2003, 10:56 PM
ok thanks a lot, you all have been a lot of help!