PDA

View Full Version : DOS Point & Click Mystery/Horror - help finding



fahlim003
01-21-2011, 12:12 AM
As per the title - I'm trying to remember a 2D point and click horror/mystery game for DOS, possibly from the late 1980's early 1990's, perhaps before Alone in the Dark. I don't remember many colour but I remember there being blue and green, in a large house at night looking for something (clues?). Any tips/help is appreciated.

Gapporin
01-21-2011, 12:26 AM
Hugo's House of Horrors (http://www.mobygames.com/game/dos/hugos-house-of-horrors/screenshots/gameShotId,44673/)?

fahlim003
01-21-2011, 12:31 AM
Hugo's House of Horrors (http://www.mobygames.com/game/dos/hugos-house-of-horrors/screenshots/gameShotId,44673/)?
No, not in this style. You may not have been able to see your character in the Monkey Island style like this game you show. More detailed and perhaps not as colourful graphics.

Gapporin
01-21-2011, 12:33 AM
Don't Go Alone (http://www.mobygames.com/game/dos/dont-go-alone/screenshots/gameShotId,58895/)?

soloman
01-21-2011, 03:23 AM
Uninvited?
Deja Vu?

darkweb
01-21-2011, 10:19 AM
last half of darkness? (http://www.mobygames.com/game/last-half-of-darkness)

Lewton
01-22-2011, 08:22 AM
As already mentioned:

De Ja Vu 1 (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/deja-vu-a-nightmare-comes-t/4528802320)

De Ja Vu 2 (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/deja-vu-ii-lost-in-las-vega/4528802876)

Last Half of Darkness (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/the-last-half-of-darkness/4525581800)

Or ....................

The Legacy: Realm of Terror (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/the-legacy-realm-of/4524640828)

Inherent Evil (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/inherent-evil-the-haunted-hote/4528955464)

fahlim003
01-22-2011, 10:47 AM
Thus far Last Half of Darkness is the closest to what I remember although the interface was surely more advanced and the screen/visuals were larger. Still I appreciate the help.

Realm of Terror looks a bit too good as does Inherent Evil.

Rob2600
01-22-2011, 11:12 AM
Dark Seed (http://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-seed)?

fahlim003
01-22-2011, 12:58 PM
Dark Seed (http://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-seed)?
Looks like a good game but it is far too nice looking (too much bright colours too).

Rob2600
01-22-2011, 01:17 PM
It's a long shot, but Iron Helix (http://www.mobygames.com/game/iron-helix/screenshots)?

Diatribal Deity
01-22-2011, 01:52 PM
I'm gonna go with Uninvited. Fits your description much more closely from what I remember.

Lewton
01-22-2011, 03:09 PM
I'm gonna go with Uninvited. Fits your description much more closely from what I remember.

Could be. Hmm! Here it is . . Uninvited (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/uninvited/4529390095)

Ze_ro
01-29-2011, 02:38 PM
Shadow of the Comet (http://www.mobygames.com/game/call-of-cthulhu-shadow-of-the-comet)? I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream (http://www.mobygames.com/game/i-have-no-mouth-and-i-must-scream)? Phantasmagoria (http://www.mobygames.com/game/phantasmagoria-a-puzzle-of-flesh)? The 7th Guest (http://www.mobygames.com/game/7th-guest)? Atmosfear: The Third Dimension (http://www.mobygames.com/game/atmosfear-the-third-dimension)? The Dark Eye (http://www.mobygames.com/game/dark-eye)? Sanitarium (http://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/sanitarium)?

Do you remember anything else about the game? Any plot points or settings or characters or anything?

--Zero

fahlim003
01-31-2011, 11:17 AM
So far no dice. All I can remember is that the setting was in a house, at least the visual I remember is being in a house near water at night. The colours were limited and it was perhaps something related to mystery and or ghosts.

I do not know why I thought it was Alone in the Dark as that's 3D... perhaps it was something by Sierra.

Lewton
01-31-2011, 02:49 PM
Not as old as the one you suggest, but what about this one, Amber (http://www.adventurepoint.co.uk/#/amber-journeys-bey/4523663764).

A house near water. Eerie/spooky game.

Moby link here (http://www.mobygames.com/game/amber-journeys-beyond/screenshots)

Gameguy
01-31-2011, 02:51 PM
What about Maniac Mansion? Or Gahan Wilson's The Ultimate Haunted House?

Edmond Dantes
02-12-2011, 01:00 AM
Also sounds like it could be Laura Bow: The Colonel's Bequest (http://www.mobygames.com/game/colonels-bequest)

Also could be the extremely rare Last Half of Darkness Part III (http://www.abandonia.com/en/games/25026/Last+Half+of+Darkness+III.html), which starts out on a pier.

HappehLemons
02-15-2011, 01:52 AM
Sounds like Colonel's Bequest to me.