PDA

View Full Version : Genesis question

chadtower
07-17-2003, 12:46 PM
I'm new to the Genesis and last night was trying to hook one up. I figured, easy, right, it's just an rf and power supply. Wrong. This is my situation:

I tried to hook up two difference Genesis 1 consoles. Same result with both. I put the RF from the console to the vcr input, attached the power supply. The sound came out fine, the picture came out, but the picture just about rolled vertically with both consoles. Could I be using the wrong rf or something? Maybe something about passing through a vcr via coax? The TV is fine as it works with everything else... but these Genesis consoles didn't want to work properly and the fact that they both did the same thing leads me to believe I did something wrong.

AB Positive
07-17-2003, 01:00 PM
what RF are you using? It sounds like the RF is being odd. either that or possibly not enough power? I'm a little confused to why this would happen myself.

-AG

chadtower
07-17-2003, 01:02 PM
I can get the model # of the a/c tonight, and I used both an NES and a Sega rf with the same results...

I was just looking at a gen a/v cord on ebay. It only has one audio plug. I thought the Genesis is stereo?

omnedon
07-17-2003, 01:06 PM
Genny one does not output stereo out of it's rear DIN plug. Only out of it's front earphone plug. The Genny two can output stereo out of it's rear mini DIN plug.

chadtower
07-17-2003, 01:08 PM
Okay, so the back of the Gen has the DIN socket, that a/v socket, and the ps socket. What I was trying to use was that a/v socket with an rf. Is that wrong? Do I need to find one that works with that DIN socket? Where the smeg can I find an owner's manual?

x_x

omnedon
07-17-2003, 01:23 PM
DIN= barrel plug
RF= small round, looks kinda like a composite jack, but isn't (composite is red, yellow, white plugs)