PDA

View Full Version : Atari 7800 Rf Problem



jonjandran
07-22-2003, 12:06 AM
I got a broken Atari 7800 2 port. The last person that had it had somehow broken off the rf connector at the box. Then they took a nes rf adapter and soldered that inside. But the nes rf cord had pulled out. Anyway I got it for 20.00 with games and contollers so I decided to give it a try. Well after re-soldering the nes rf back on, I get a picture with a little " snow " and some sound with a LOT of static. Can anyone guess at what the problem is ? Do I need to trash the nes rf and try something else ?
Thanks for the help.

FABombjoy
07-23-2003, 10:36 AM
Wait a minute... Did you get a 7800, or a 5200? You say "2 port" which usually describes 5200's.

At any rate, the 2 port 5200, and the 7800 both require a manual switchbox, or an RCA -> F-type adapter. Auto switboxes (like the NES one) won't work correctly.

omnedon
07-23-2003, 02:10 PM
Seems to me, if your RF out is as butchered as it sounds you have two options for repair.

1) Replace the RF unit with another. I have a couple of parts 7800's that could likely donate one.

2) Attempt the A/V mod, which can allow it to out put composite out A/V

If one was handy enough to do the A/V mod (haven't tried it myself yet but do plan on it), I'd recommend that, as opposed to going to the trouble and ending up with just RF again.

FABombjoy knows this stuff far better than I, and can hopefully voice a comment on what I just said.

FABombjoy
07-23-2003, 03:17 PM
Hmm... When I read "broken off the rf connector at the box", I was thinking that it was the RF switchbox, not the console itself... If the RCA connector on the back of the console was broken off, you can try to replace the RF convertor, but I'm not sure if it's a standard part or not. I'm all confused. What broke exactly, anyway?

@omnedon: Thanks! I just learn it as I go, like all of us self-trained repairpersonpeople :)

jonjandran
07-23-2003, 05:33 PM
Hmm... When I read "broken off the rf connector at the box", I was thinking that it was the RF switchbox, not the console itself... If the RCA connector on the back of the console was broken off, you can try to replace the RF convertor, but I'm not sure if it's a standard part or not. I'm all confused. What broke exactly, anyway?

@omnedon: Thanks! I just learn it as I go, like all of us self-trained repairpersonpeople :)
The rca connector at the back of the box is gone . There is just a hole going into the unit now . He had a nes rf hooked up . with the center wire soldered to one spot inside on the rf board and the outer wire soldered to the rf shielding box. Like I said there is a picture with a little snow and there is sound with a LOT of static. And it is a 7800.

omnedon
07-23-2003, 09:24 PM
Then I add a third option to my above suggestions.

3) Solder a real shielded RF cable directly to the two points the NES RF cable was soldered to. Then connect thru an F-plug on the end of the cable.

An F-plug is a little plug that converst RF signal to Co-axial cable connector signal.

There will be no solderless fix for your 7800 I fear.

jonjandran
07-23-2003, 09:49 PM
Then I add a third option to my above suggestions.

3) Solder a real shielded RF cable directly to the two points the NES RF cable was soldered to. Then connect thru an F-plug on the end of the cable.

An F-plug is a little plug that converst RF signal to Co-axial cable connector signal.

There will be no solderless fix for your 7800 I fear.

When you say a "real" rf cable, what do you mean and where would I get one ?

FABombjoy
07-23-2003, 10:21 PM
When you say a "real" rf cable, what do you mean and where would I get one ?

Basically, you just need a chunk of plain TV coax or RCA cable. Depending on what kind of end it has (F-type, RCA), you may need an adapter to hook it to the TV. Cut the cable & solder it up just like the Nintendo cable was soldered.

jonjandran
07-24-2003, 12:25 AM
I got the rf problem fixed. Thanks guys. I put in a new rf in the box. It works great. But now I have another problem. When I play ANY game . With a controller in or out , the character, car, pac-man, etc , pulls to the right immediately. Any ideas.????

Bratwurst
07-24-2003, 01:12 AM
I remember vaguely reading about this being an issue with someone else's 7800, and they concluded it had something to do with the controller port being blown or something. Maybe check into that?

chadtower
07-24-2003, 08:34 AM
Man that's a lot of work for a $15 console... :hmm:

omnedon
07-24-2003, 08:44 AM
It was my 7800 that had the blown controller circuit.

http://www.digitpress.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11577&highlight=7800

Got it fixed, but how easy it will be depends on the version of your 7800. If it's an original version, the IC's are socketed, and snap in. If not, they are soldered in, which means mucho more work. read that thread and ask me again if you want.

jonjandran
07-24-2003, 10:02 AM
It's not snap in . :angry:
But if you have an extra IC I'll de-solder mine and put it in.
Let me know . :D

omnedon
07-24-2003, 01:32 PM
Nope. I only ordered the one, becuase I wasn't 100% sure it would work. Of course it did in the end. Figures. :/

If you run across a busted commodore, they might have one you could pop out....

jameco was fast for me, and I live in Canada.

They (the IC's on the 7800) are soldered in very well I'm sorry to say. I wouldn't try it without a chip puller. I did (on a differently broken 7800), and only succeeded in cracking the chip. Jameco sells the chip pullers too....

Good Luck!

Umm...Centipede is great on the 7800, and so is Joust, and Ms Pac Man...
:D