PDA

View Full Version : PS1 Gameshark work on PS3?



SpiritualK
08-02-2013, 06:23 PM
Hi guys (and gals), so lately ive been wanting to play some good old ps1 games on my ps3 slim... does anyone know if a gameshark for the ps1 works on the ps3 or do I have to bring out ps1?
the gameshark I have is disc only and doesnt require anything special (other than a just a normal ps1 memory card) to use. so im thinking the virtual ps1 memory card on the ps3 might work for that? has anyone tried it?

thank you :)

Rickstilwell1
08-02-2013, 07:10 PM
Why don't you just try it? It won't get stuck or anything. The only issue I can think of is whether or not the Gameshark's software will be able to tell if you've swapped discs, as there is no lid on the PS3.

Buyatari
08-02-2013, 09:40 PM
Why don't you just try it? It won't get stuck or anything. The only issue I can think of is whether or not the Gameshark's software will be able to tell if you've swapped discs, as there is no lid on the PS3.

Never heard of this tried before. Give it a shot and report back.

Melf
08-05-2013, 11:05 AM
The PS2 Pro Action Replay doesn't work on the PS3 (I tried it on the original George Foreman model), so I doubt the PS1 would.

JakeM
08-05-2013, 02:57 PM
Of course it wont work. But there is the new game genie


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPQDTBINPS4

JSoup
08-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Of course it wont work. But there is the new game genie


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPQDTBINPS4

Kinda neat. I've always found these cheating devices to be strangely novel.

LiquidPolicenaut
08-05-2013, 07:23 PM
I can confirm that the Codebreaker for PS2 did in fact work on my original 60GB PS3 as well as the PS1 Codebreaker on both my original 60GB and my current Slim model...