PDA

View Full Version : Help With Non-Working Sega CD



Nature Boy
01-08-2003, 07:25 AM
I know it's one of the flakiest machines out there, but I've got *two* of them that don't work at all.

Last night I took the white eraser to my Model 2 Genesis to clean up the contacts. It definitely needed it. Should I be taking q-tips and rubbing alcohol to the contacts on the CD (I'm not talking about the laser, I'm talking about the bit that connects to the genesis)?

I'm not hearing any spinning when I power it up. I know the power cable works - I've tested it on my SMS.

Any help would be appreciated.

congobongo
01-08-2003, 07:52 AM
I had lots of problems with mine and finally discovered that it WAS the contacts. I picked up a new (to me) Model 2 at a thrift for five bucks (the expansion port had never been used and the red seal was still on it) and all of my problems were solved. Before I did this, my CD was iffy and wouldn't work at all if my 32X was plugged in. Bizzare. I've seen a couple Genesis decks around lately for under $10 CAN. I can tell you where I've seen them if you want or I can pick one up next time I see it.

autobotracing
01-08-2003, 08:38 AM
sega cd are a bitch to work with.I have 4 that dont work so I go to my freinds house in his basement to get some parts and there is a sega cd model 2 that is full of water and another that wasnt so I got them went home shook the water out poped in a disk and it worked perfectly and the dry one was dead.salution to your issue is to throw them in some water :D

Nature Boy
01-08-2003, 11:22 AM
The red bit *was* on my Model 2 but the contacts were still damn filthy I found.

Was the switcheroo difficult? Are there new contacts you can buy (much like you can buy the 72 pin connector?)

I'd even consider buying a multimeter to check for current if somebody can point me to where I'd find out what the proper values would be.

congobongo
01-08-2003, 01:06 PM
Don't you wish they had included a power LED on it? It would make things so much easier. At least you'd be able to tell that it's getting power. I find that really annoying.

CrazyImpmon
01-08-2003, 04:23 PM
The red bit *was* on my Model 2 but the contacts were still damn filthy I found.

Was the switcheroo difficult? Are there new contacts you can buy (much like you can buy the 72 pin connector?).

Swapping the console shouldn't be hard at all. Just unplug abd slide the console off, slide another one and plug it all back up.

And I don't think you can replace the connector inside Genesis since replacing it would require swapping the whole board. Replacing the connector inside the CD console is probably possible but I don't think those connector ever needs to be replaced.

Nature Boy
01-09-2003, 07:20 AM
@CrazyImpmon: heh heh - I *was* talking about switch the contacts the whole time. I realize it's easy to swap consoles in and out LOL

Is the problem generally the connector inside the Genesis or the connector inside the CD unit?

BTW: I used rubbing alcohol on both last night but haven't tried them out yet.

congobongo
01-09-2003, 07:57 AM
IMO the contact problem is more likely to be with the Genesis than the CD. Have you tried more than one Genesis? Do you know if the Genesis you have was used in combination with the CD? When I got my sega CD it was a rental (big mistake) and no matter how much I cleaned the contacts on the Genesis it still had problems. I think the Genesis contacts had been worn down from having the system connected and removed too many times. After plugging in the new Genesis, no more problems.

Wonder_Hamster
10-20-2003, 09:29 AM
I'm reviving this thread because I'm having the same problem. I've had 2 non-working Sega CD systems and 3 Genesis systems to test on both of them. I tried all 6 possible combinations, cleaned the contacts, and still none of them would work. The AC adaptor is fine since it works with my model 1 Genesis. Is there any more help that anyone can give for this problem?

Duncan
12-03-2003, 06:28 PM
Got a Sega CD (model 1) a while ago that, at first, did nothing.

Fooling around inside allowed me to hook up the disconnected ribbon cable, which now at least gets the thing to make noises and light up when I turn on the Genesis.

Still doesn't work, though, because the CD tray won't open. So, do I need a belt, or is it a gear drive of some sort?

Any help would be appreciated...