PDA

View Full Version : Vic20 Video cable



InfernalCheese
01-20-2003, 05:18 PM
Well I found my old Vic along with a wad of games in the basement. This was cool until to my horror I found the video cable missing. The cable is not the same the ones used on either the c64 or the c128. I will probably get a cable from goodwill or ebay in the future but as for now... I found a pinout of the connection but i'm not sure which of the 5 connections I need to connect the 2 RCA A/V plugs. Any help ideas would be nice. :/

InfernalCheese 8-)

CrazyImpmon
01-20-2003, 07:39 PM
Not the same? Unless that C64/128 has 8 pin DIN connector, the cable should work.

Raedon
01-20-2003, 08:56 PM
I use a 5-pin din AV with my vic20, c64, and c128 if I'm lazy

omnedon
01-20-2003, 09:17 PM
I think I have a spare I'd be willing to trade.

That's a DIN with a silver box on the other end that says commodore right?


I'd be happy to trade it for something common. :-D

InfernalCheese
01-20-2003, 09:53 PM
Yup, it's the 8 pin. I'll send you a pm omnedon. Thanks for the quick response guys.

zektor
03-01-2003, 01:19 AM
Actually, the A/V DIN on the Vic is a 5-Pin. I actually made one for myself just tonight, because the rf box was acting up and giving me very crappy picture and sound. At first I went crazy looking for the 5-pinner at some local gamestops/funco's. Good luck on that deal. They aren't anywhere to be found by me at least. Ebay seemed to be the only solution, until I dug up a 5-pin PC keyboard extension (older DB5) cable and spliced it. After splicing, There were the five connections, ground, a yellow (video), a brown, an orange, a black and a red. I knew the video would be the yellow, and spliced an old rca cable from one of my stereos to it. Plugged it into the Vic, and lo and behold! Perfect video. Now for the audio. This was trial and error. I actually had to try each one of those colors until I found the audio was the orange wire. Now, perfect audio and video. I am once again happy :)

ste
04-14-2003, 02:34 PM
For prosperity and future users I'll post the pin out of the Vic-20 here. It's true the 5-din C64 plug will work, and the pin out is almost the same. I use the same home-made cord for both my Vic-20 and C64.
The parts are easilty available, and you can make a new cord with 5 minutes, a soldering iron, and a old RCA cord (if you don't care that the video line isn't as insulated).
Pretend this is a circular MALE 5 din plug... (You'd be looking at it with the pins away from you (i.e. from behind, or if you will, if you were looking directly into the port in the computer.)



[3] [1]
[5] [4]
[2]


1. +6V (don't put anything here!)
2. Ground
3. Audio
4. Video Low
5. Video High

I'm not sure what the difference between Video Low and Video High are.... I just know that pin 4 is Video out on the C64 specs and it works for me. YMMV.

For comparison purposes, the C64 5-Din pin-out is:
1. Luminence
2. Ground
3. Audio
4. Video Out
5. Audio In

Sté