PDA

View Full Version : Can't install original Civilization on XP Pro SP2 PC - Help!



stonecutter
11-13-2005, 01:07 PM
When I try to install the original Civilization on my PC, I get the following error.

Title box - 16 bit Windows Subsystem
error message - C:\windows\system32\autoexec.nt. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'close' to terminate the application.

There is a close and ignore button. If I hit ignore nothing else happens.

Appreciate the help.

Jibbajaba
11-13-2005, 01:20 PM
Please excuse my ignorance, but is the original Civ a DOS app or a win 95 app?

If it's a DOS pp, use dosbox. If it's an older windows app, try running it in Win95 compatibility mode.

Chris

roushimsx
11-13-2005, 01:27 PM
It's DOS (and works golden in DOSbox), though there was a Windows version (CivNET (http://www.ntcompatible.com/CivNet_c5120.html)) works just dandy in WindowsXP

stonecutter
11-13-2005, 02:39 PM
The one I have is a WIN 95 game.

calthaer
11-14-2005, 12:30 AM
Have you tried running it in Win 95 compatability mode?

Search for "Compatability mode" under Windows Help for more details.

XxMe2NiKxX
11-14-2005, 12:35 AM
You *must* run that in DOS(box), or it will not work (regardless of compatibility modes).

Frankly, FreeCiv/CivNet is a hideous port.

stonecutter
11-15-2005, 07:37 PM
Thanks for the help everyone, but still no success in seting up this game.

It is for Win 95. Dos Box did not work, I also tried a windows front end for Dos box, no luck. I also tried the compatability mode for WIN 95 in XP, it did not work eiter.

Any other ideas. Is there a good program like Dos box, only for Win 95, that might work if there i one.

Thanks again.

Jibbajaba
11-15-2005, 08:46 PM
Why don't you just download the DOS version? I mean, if you own the version that you are trying to play, then I don't see the problem with downloading an older version of the same game...


Chris

roushimsx
11-15-2005, 08:57 PM
Frankly, FreeCiv/CivNet is a hideous port.

...and they're completely different from each other. CivNet (http://www.the-underdogs.org/game.php?name=CivNet) was the official multiplayer/Win3.11 version with updated graphics. FreeCiv (http://www.freeciv.org/index.php/Freeciv) is the opensource Civilization clone.

Really though, if you're having that much trouble getting it to run, just throw in the towel and go pick up the Civilization 2 (or 3!) jewel case edition for $5-$10. Both work just fine in WindowsXP are are exponentially better than the first game (which had some of the most cheat-tastic AI ever).

While you're at it, try to find the Alpha Centauri/Alien Crossfire bundle (it's part of the laptop gamer's pack, IIRC...another great bundle of games for only $20).

stonecutter
11-15-2005, 10:27 PM
I also own 2 and 3, but I was wanting to play the original again. Something about that one that I like more so than some of the others. I might do as suggested and get the DOS version, never really thought of it that way. I was wanting the original on xp for lunch time at work.

Thanks again.

Flack
11-15-2005, 11:12 PM
If you end up playing a lot of older games, you should check out Virtual PC or one of those types of programs. It's like DosBox, except it's an entirely virtual computer. On it, you can install any OS you want (DOS, Windows 95, whatever). You can run your virtual computer full screen and it looks and acts just like the real thing. I wouldn't recommend getting it, installing it and learning it for just one game, but if you play a lot of Windows 95/Windows 3.11 games it's a neat and helpful program.

Jorpho
11-15-2005, 11:24 PM
No, no, no!

I had to make this a sticky on the Underdogs forums. (I spend far too much time there. Come join me sometime! Just stay clear of General Discussion.)


When attempting to run various DOS games (and even a few Windows programs) under Windows XP, you may receive a message similar to this:

C:\Windows\System32\Autoexec.nt The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

This is not a problem with the game itself, but rather with particular system files in the Windows XP installation. Microsoft has provided step-by-step instructions for resolving this problem at http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767&Product=winxp .

If you find these instructions too complex, or if they do not fix the problem for you, there are unofficial patches for Windows XP Pro, Windows XP Home, and Windows 2000 available at http://www.tech-forums.net/computer/topic/29806.html that apparently accomplish the same thing. (Use them at your own risk!)

stonecutter
11-16-2005, 06:24 PM
Thanks Jorpho, I will check that out and let you know.