PDA

View Full Version : RUMOUR: PGR 3 doesn't run at a true 720p



njiska
11-13-2005, 09:08 PM
http://www.joystiq.com/entry/1234000393067805/

I for one don't believe the rumour and it's because there's a glaring contradiction.

He claims the menu's are rendered at 1024x720, but that's not a 16:9 ratio and we know the menu's are 16:9.

All the same though the slightly lower resolution wouldn't bother me.

CYRiX
11-13-2005, 09:11 PM
Its a freaking launch game, who cares if it isn't at the best resolution.

s1lence
11-13-2005, 11:58 PM
I thought microsoft said all games had to be in 720p for the 360?

diskoboy
11-14-2005, 12:08 AM
I'm sure he's just probably stupid and meant 1280x720. The demo I've played, at Target, a few nights back looked pretty damn good. If the MENUS run at that resolution, I wouldn't really care. The game looked pretty tight.

And lemmie say one thing folks... The crowd of people at best buy crowded around the 360 POS, watching the DOA4 demo... That game looks freakin' fantastique!! It truly does have to be seen to be believed. Especially running in 720p on those little Samsung displays 8-)

kedawa
11-14-2005, 12:38 AM
It's probably a mistake, but maybe 1024x720 is just an additional resoulution that's available for those using the VGA cable.

There are a lot of monitors, LCDs mostly, that only support up to 1024x768.

s1lence
11-14-2005, 09:51 AM
I wonder how much those Samsung monitors cost, they have a really sweet picture.

davidbrit2
11-14-2005, 09:59 AM
Well, considering PGR3 allegedly only runs at 30 fps, this wouldn't really surprise me I suppose. Granted, I'll still pick up the game if/when I get a 360, but... argh. Why 30 fps???

Mayhem
11-14-2005, 10:07 AM
You misquoted the article there njiska... you mean 1024x600 here not 720. Either way, it'll appear okay because the image is being upscaled. Only by the screen capture method could you see what the actual res being outputed by the Xbox360 is.

(in a similar way that a game outputing 1280x720 to a 768 TV will get upscaled to that resolution)

davidbrit2
11-14-2005, 10:16 AM
See, this is why I hate HDTV. None of the companies have any fucking clue about such concepts as "native resolution" and "unbuffered scanning". No, instead they expect us to put up with ubiquitous upscanning and image lag bullshit.

Just give us VGA plzkthx.

kevin_psx
11-14-2005, 03:42 PM
Whats unbuffered scanning?

1024x600 upscaled to 1280x720 would be okay wouldn't it? Better than the current games.

Zing
11-14-2005, 03:48 PM
It's easier and more popular with the customers to just claim that all games run at HDTV resolutions with Dolby Digital 5.1 sound, which is technically accurate since the video and sound are output in these modes. I'm sure there will be more games in the future internally rendered at lower resolutions and in stereo.

njiska
11-14-2005, 05:09 PM
Well, considering PGR3 allegedly only runs at 30 fps, this wouldn't really surprise me I suppose. Granted, I'll still pick up the game if/when I get a 360, but... argh. Why 30 fps???

Why's it matter? I'd much rather have a solid 30FPS with proper motion blur then 60FPS that drops from time to time.

davidbrit2
11-14-2005, 09:25 PM
That's just the thing, the hardware should EASILY be capable of handling a solid 60 fps for a game like that. Hell, that notion is half of their marketing right there!

kevin_psx
11-15-2005, 11:35 AM
don't believe the hype - it's a sequel