PDA

View Full Version : Finally Got my 7800 Working Properly



Nature Boy
02-05-2003, 01:19 PM
I had purchased one of the Radio Shack auto RCA to Co-ax thingies but it produced an unusable result. It's clearly not compatible - the picture was really snowy and the sound was more snow than the sound efficts (not that the 7800 has great sound effects anyway).

I picked up, from the AA store, an RCA to Coaxial connector ($3) and used a spare RCA cable I had lying around (from an Atari 800 XL) and voila! I really recommend this connector. It works with my Intellivision and VCS as well and the picture quality is definitely an improvement over the TV/Game switchbox.

I've got some RCA Y cables that I used so that I can have both connected at the same time and I do lose some quality. Suggestions? Other than buying a few more connectors (which I might do anyway I like it so much).

I actually seriously played my 7800 for the first time last night. Exciting stuff!

congobongo
02-05-2003, 02:18 PM
I use the rf-to-coax adapters with all of my older systems and I agree that the result is suprisingly good. I have two 3-input coax selectors hooked up together ($10 CAN each from the surplus store). I have my two most commonly used systems hooked up to A and B inputs of the selector that runs directly to the TV and set it to C for the other three systems. This setup keeps my 2600, 5200, 7800, colecovision and intellivision all ready to go at the push of a button. Highly recommended setup.

Raedon
02-05-2003, 02:28 PM
I plan on taking my 7800 and doing an A/V mod one of these days.. probably the weekend after i get an HDTV.

Nature Boy
02-05-2003, 03:19 PM
Instead of a co-ax selector I just use a splitter with four outputs. And then I run what is supposed to be the one 'in' as an out (to my TV) and the four former outputs become the inputs for my Genesis, SMS, Jaguar, and the fourth is the new rf-to-coax. Makes disconnecting and reconnecting things simpler - no daisy chaining. And no switch boxes (I have two of those already for the 3DO, Saturn, NES, SNES, and N64 and it's so much nicer when you don't have to deal with them)

congobongo
02-05-2003, 03:40 PM
I would think there would be quality loss with that kind of setup though no? Oh yes, now I see you did mention that. Also, it's really easy to get/make SMS and genesis(1) composite cables. Or are you running composite from the SMS and Genesis to your splitter?

Nature Boy
02-06-2003, 07:25 AM
I don't have a composite connector for my SMS or Genesis. If I saw one for sale at a reasonable (i.e. $2) price I'd pick one up. But I've never come across one as of yet.

For now it doesn't bother me - the TV I'm using is a 14" with cable input only, so I have to use an RF Modulator to get the Composite stuff to run. Once we get our new Entertainment Unit we'll be using our new 36" TV and then my old 27" will be confiscated and used for my composite connections. Actually I plan on gutting my closet at that point and building a simple shelving unit for the TV and the systems in the closet (no doors, just nicely tucked into the wall).

congobongo
02-06-2003, 07:58 AM
As for composite from the SMS etc., the "Gorilla" store sells the proper DIN connector $1 and a stereo av cable you can use to wire it is $2. So the total is $3 plus your time in soldering the cable together. This is the only thing I've attempted soldering (for my C64 and Atari 8-bit) and I had no problem doing it. Something to think about when you get that new TV.

Nature Boy
02-06-2003, 08:00 AM
Very cool - thanks for the tip!

(Right now I'm wondering if anybody else knows what the "Gorilla" store is :-D ).