Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Genesis 2 outputting B/W

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) NamErehWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Genesis 2 outputting B/W

    Hey guys, I've got a Genesis 2 that works fine, it just has trouble keeping color in games. It'll sometimes start, or switch to black and white output when playing a game. I tried connecting composite cables to the proper pins, but still have the same problem as with the RF connector. Any possible solutions? If soldering is required that's no problem.

  2. #2
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) rbudrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Buying the rare ones, moments before you get there.
    Posts
    8,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    So it's not S-video, huh? Well, that rules out a color synch issue with a pin on the cable. Does the screen ever roll on an all black or all white screen?

    Strange issue, man. Sorry I'm not much help.

    -Rob
    The moral is, don't **** with Uncle Tim when he's been drinking!

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) NamErehWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Nope, it doesn't go all black or all white. I also noticed that the sound will occasionally cut out as well.

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Try resoldering the contact points on the video encoder chip. If it's a Genesis 1, it's a SONY chip near the AV jack.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) NamErehWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, I have a Genesis 2, but I should be able to follow the traces to the proper chip.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yep. Could be a Samsung then. Big S on the Samsungs.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0) NamErehWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tried resoldering the chip, but it didn't fix the problem.

  8. #8
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    erm. All of the next steps come dangerously close to not worth fixing territory.

    Replacing that video encoder with a good one?
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0) NamErehWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't have a replacement chip to try that with. I'll try running my meter over the traces for anything wierd going on when I have some free time next week. If that doesn't work, I'll just find myself a new system.

  10. #10
    Strawberry (Level 2) goemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    419
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You're sure it's not the TV, right? I was at a bar the other day and one of the TVs there kept switching to B/W from color. All the other ones had the same show all in color.

    If I had a Jynx think of the things we can do together. She also kisses alot.
    Not to mention her breast plates is obviously hiding something nice
    The of Jynx as a XXX doll pokemon. -Rugal Sizzler


    ┏┫∵┣┛My Collection┏┫∵┣┛

  11. #11
    Cherry (Level 1) OdSquad64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    1060 West Addison
    Posts
    270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    OdSquad64
    PSN
    OdSquad64

    Default

    i know this may seem painfully obvious, but have you tried cleaning the cartridge connector? it's always good to make sure you start with the easiest solution first. you may also want to try another genesis on your TV, or try your genesis on another TV


  12. #12
    Insert Coin (Level 0) NamErehWon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've tried it on other TVs as well as other consoles on the same TV, so I'm pretty sure the problem is with the genesis itself. I'll try cleaning the connector and see if that helps.

    Edit:
    Hahaha, I'm a dumb schmuck. Cleaning the connector with some cardboard and alcohol did the trick.
    Last edited by NamErehWon; 05-13-2007 at 09:46 AM.

  13. #13
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    18
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    good man, glad you got it sorted, I hate it when I overlook some of the easy steps until after I have done all the hard stuff.

Similar Threads

  1. Is my Genesis outputting video in PAL mode?
    By Kitsune Sniper in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 05:29 AM
  2. 3DO not outputting a signal
    By ubersaurus in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-15-2006, 07:38 PM
  3. Genesis 3 System Not Outputting Stereo Sound
    By Damaramu in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 01:50 PM
  4. Problem with outputting what I need with Xbox.
    By SkiDragon in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2005, 10:40 PM
  5. Outputting both composite video and optical audio from Xbox.
    By SkiDragon in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-08-2005, 03:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •