Thread: Need help RE: Sword Of Mana (GBA) ~ Levelling up glitch

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

Default Need help RE: Sword Of Mana (GBA) ~ Levelling up glitch

I started playing Sword Of Mana a few years ago, but put it down and never went back to it before now. I had played through at least 15 hours worth of the game as the Female character, but during the period of not playing, i'd realised i'd forgotten everything i've done to that point, therefore I decided to start again...

This time, I decided to play as the Male character. After a long tedious intro story (Is it me, or do all of Square's games on the GBA have these?), I found myself in a dungeon with a few NPC's and a statue. It didn't take me long to figure out what I had to do, and after a while I was being turfed out of the water by a strange rabbit-looking fellow. So far, so good...

Upon proceeding to the next screen and "Rescuing" the girl from the monster, I decided to spend a few moments grinding and randomly killing off Rabites which appeared in the grass. In no time at all, I had "LV. UP" above my head. Soon afterwards, the girl also had "LV. UP" appear, but this vanished quickly, but it was still displayed above the main characters head... ~ Thinking this was a bit odd, I checked my Stats menu. Her level had gone from LV 5 to LV 6, but the main character's level had stayed at Level 1. I then decided to spend a good half hour grinding, and as her levels changed (All the way to Level 10), his level stayed at Level 1, with only my weapon level going up. I saved at a statue, and went back into the game, but alas the glitch was still there.

I decided to start the game again. Skipped past all the tedious text at the beginning, killed off the Jackal, fished out of the water again. Rescued the bit of skirt, bashed a few monsters around, and... Again, couldn't level up.