Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Problem with My Japanese Sega Saturn

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1) Bibliophile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    216
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Problem with My Japanese Sega Saturn

    Hello, everybody.

    I am kinda new to this forum, been on here for a while, but haven't posted much.

    I have a problem with my Japanese white Sega Saturn. I have one of those Radio Shack auto-sensing switches that receives multiple inputs (of the red, white, and yellow A/V cables) and automatically switches to the most recent one to come on. I use it to connect several systems to my TV, and it automatically switches to whichever one I turn on.

    Well, I meant to plug in my Sega Saturn to the switch, but rather than plugging it into one of the input ports, I accidentally plugged it into an output port, so the switch sent the input from my XBOX to my Sega Saturn.

    Normally it is not a big deal, but for some reason, as soon as I did this, my Saturn started displaying a messed up video display.

    Now, I am wondering if I some fried something inside my Saturn.

    If so, what is it that I most likely fried? And does this sound like something that can be fixed.

    I would appreciate any assistance in the matter. Thank you.
    Last edited by Bibliophile; 11-09-2007 at 09:31 PM.
    "You can judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him."
    - Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

    My feedback
    Digitpress.com
    Neo-Geo.com (over 100 feedbacks)
    Sega-Naomi.com
    GameGavel.com
    ChasetheChuckwagon.com

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That's a new one.

    IF it happened exactly as you say, and it's not a problem with your cords or hookup method (test with other cords, direct to your TV with the switcher out of the way), then it could be your video encoder is fried.

    That may or may not be worth repairing. IC level replacement is always tricky and time consuming, and not awlays successful (but still time consuming).

    Note to self- avoid switchers than can do this Yikes!
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

Similar Threads

  1. PAL Sega Saturn problem
    By atat23 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 07:01 PM
  2. Sega Saturn Problem, Really Need HELP!!!
    By deviljin102 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 12:49 PM
  3. Fs: Japanese Sega Saturn Collection + White Saturn Modded
    By hayabusa_fmw in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2008, 02:40 AM
  4. Sega Saturn lid problem
    By Omni in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2007, 04:52 PM
  5. Sega Saturn Problem
    By DDCecil in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 12:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •