Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Most respected VG publication?

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Most respected VG publication?

What videogame magazine could be considered to be the worldwide most respected by the industry and public alike?

Coming from England i'd say that we're often being led to believe that it is EDGE magazine, however, whilst i do think this is probably the case in terms of the magazines i've read i have very little knowledge of international magazines, or indeed what is the thoughts of those inside the industry itself.

Is their an American publication or any other for that reason that could make that claim? (ok so EDGE dosn't make this claim itself but i think it likes to think it is the most respected magazine).

I've recently started to listen to a lot of the 1up podcasts and i'm taken aback by the level of professionalism, maturity and seriousness of the contributors. Maybe it's my own predjudice but i never thought mainstream videogame journalism in America managed to get out on that level or had a market for that sort of tone.

just a few thoughts, any of your own?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Nebagram
    PSN
    Nebagram

Much as I like Edge, I've got to believe that up until 2000, CVG was the absolute Big Daddy of videogames mags. Any mag that can run a Street Fighter Alpha 2 moves list... twice... is the proverbial mutt's.

Banned
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    bow to postulio
    PSN
    MofoicDisaster

im not really sure... id like to believe that EGM is that sort of magazine, but a lot of people (many on these forums as well) believe that the magazine has dropped in quality significantly in the last 10 or so years. personally i like EGM.

i believe GameInformer is probably the last worthwhile magazine in the states.