Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Faking a Stereo Signal.

  1. #1
    Stuck in 1998 Cloud121's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Town
    Posts
    534
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    Cloud121D
    PSN
    Cloud121
    Steam
    Cloud121D

    Default Faking a Stereo Signal.

    All right, here's the deal. Just bought my Master System last week, and I have it plugged in via A/V cables. Just two prong mono ones. The other day I was playing it a bit, and noticed that I was only getting audio out of the left speaker. The reason I never really noticed it before was because I sit moreso to the left side of my gaming/stereo setup.

    Therefore, how can I fake a stereo signal, therefore getting the audio to come out of all both sides for both my Master System and NES? Though I'm using a Top Loader at the moment, I plan on getting my Toaster repaired sometime and plugging it in via A/V as well.

    For the time being I'm just going to plug my SMS via RF, as the audio going from my TV to my stereo will play it both Yeah, I'm taking a audio and visual quality hit, but not getting the sound out of both speakers is gonna bug the crap out of me.
    My Game Collection
    "I am only what you see me as." - Obsidian Rose

  2. #2
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    A splitter.


  3. #3
    Stuck in 1998 Cloud121's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Town
    Posts
    534
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    Cloud121D
    PSN
    Cloud121
    Steam
    Cloud121D

    Default

    All right, that settles it. I'm a complete idiot. Anyone wanna slap me?
    My Game Collection
    "I am only what you see me as." - Obsidian Rose

  4. #4
    Pretzel (Level 4) Dragon Warrior Jasen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Falls Church, VA
    Posts
    906
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Oohh... Can I?

    No, just kidding. Sometimes in this day and age we forget about the simple stuff, unfortunately technology has made us come to expect a much more difficult answer than we need!
    Jasen's Customs, Like it on Facebook!

    Tutorials on SuperGuns
    http://www.thesupergun.com

    Rocking Out a Digital Press since 2007
    My Feedback here.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evildragon View Post
    A splitter.

    Actually, that's the wrong kind

    You'll need a 1-male to 2-male if you're going directly from the console to the receiver/tv:


    Or a 1-male to 2-female if you're supplying your own cables:

  6. #6
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike01Hawk View Post
    Actually, that's the wrong kind
    Master systems AV cable is a male connector. The splitter takes the male connector in it's female connector and splits it to TWO male connectors.

    I did my research before posting a picture, I am in fact right.
    Last edited by evildragon; 12-23-2007 at 03:03 PM.

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okay, I'm a retard

    Had to find pics of how a SMS is hooked up... stupid f'n proprietary connectors.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=370007586630

    BUT, my solution will work for his NES

  8. #8
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike01Hawk View Post
    Okay, I'm a retard

    Had to find pics of how a SMS is hooked up... stupid f'n proprietary connectors.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=370007586630

    BUT, my solution will work for his NES
    The first one will NOT, unless the NES is sitting 2 inches from the rear AV connector. Male to Male isn't a smart route. Male to female more likely.

    Your second pic however is far better.

    But I already modded my NES for "true" stereo, though it's weird.

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evildragon View Post
    But I already modded my NES for "true" stereo, though it's weird.
    there is no true stereo for nes. all you did was split off different parts of the sound to each speaker.. each sound you hear will only ever come out of its own speaker, never the other one, no matter what position the "source" object is in on the screen.

    fail:P

    nah, its a common mod, and im sure its cool somehow, but itd sound weird to me having sounds coming from the wrong places.

  10. #10
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phreak97 View Post
    there is no true stereo for nes. all you did was split off different parts of the sound to each speaker.. each sound you hear will only ever come out of its own speaker, never the other one, no matter what position the "source" object is in on the screen.

    fail:P

    nah, its a common mod, and im sure its cool somehow, but itd sound weird to me having sounds coming from the wrong places.
    It's true stereo in the sense that each speaker has it's own sound.

    Pass!

    Note I did say it's a weird mod.

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12) jb143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    4,240
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    66
    Thanked in
    59 Posts

    Default

    And here I was getting ready to put on my thinking cap to figure out a way to seperate the audio into 2 distinct signals using filters and digital signal processors. Now that I think of it though...I'm much to lazy for a mod like that so the splitter idea is much better.

Similar Threads

  1. no vga signal on DC vga box
    By .:shaun:. in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 01:18 AM
  2. 4 way TV signal splitter
    By SkiDragon in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2006, 03:26 PM
  3. WTB: PAL signal N64
    By drummy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2005, 07:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •