Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 61

Thread: The Sega Neptune!!!!

  1. #21
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm gonna move it later. I just wanted to get the wires soldered up last night. I'll get to it later today. I should have searched for a Genesis with the other board. It would have made things a bit easier. This one is a little more cramped.

    Ray
    Last edited by Nitrosport; 01-15-2008 at 04:11 PM.

  2. #22
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've decided to be different than you guys, and do this to a model 1 Genesis...

  3. #23
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Why a model 1? In the long run, you wouldn't be able to fit it into a custom made neptune case.

  4. #24
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Because I don't want it in a custom made case..

    I want to keep the retro feel of the Genesis 1 system, but have the secret ability to play 32X games.

  5. #25
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ah, I see. Keep us updated on it.

  6. #26
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Longhorn Engineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Goodluck with the Mod! I hope I took enough pictures to figure out what I did.

    Oh and thanks everyone for there comments!

  7. #27
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I know the Genesis, CD, and 32X so well, I wouldn't need a guide. (Been disecting these consoles and most revs for years.. got my own book of info written down)

    Actually, if you need any help, let me know. I'm familiar with all revisions of the model 1 Genesis, and all models of Sega CD. Model 2 Genesis' i only know 2 revs..

  8. #28
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Longhorn Engineer View Post
    Goodluck with the Mod! I hope I took enough pictures to figure out what I did.

    Oh and thanks everyone for there comments!
    I've got a general idea. You did a nice job on yours. Can you make custom neptune cases?

    Ray

  9. #29
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Longhorn Engineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Oh yes I forgot. You can use 1 power supply but it has to be rated at 10V @ 2amps. When you connect the power to the 32X make sure to use 18AWG wire. The 32x is a little power hungry and we don't want your neptune melting now do we?

    Also when you solder the wires to the 32x make sure they are as short and straight as possible. Any extra length and twists WILL scramble and weaken the signals and will prevent the 32X from kicking over. I first used ribbon cable but that was way to thin to support the signal so I had to redo the entire thing in 20AWG. If there was room I would use 18AWG for the connection.

    edit// No I can't make neptune cases. I don't have access to a vacuum forming machine. I wish I did though.

  10. #30
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I actually have a ribbon cable rated up to 1024x768 60Hz non-interlaced (anything higher and it has ghosting).. It's taken from an old PowerMac G3 "AIO"..

    And yea, I know about the power supply. Mentioned about it on the other forum, before you got here..

    I do EE work alot, so this is a walk in the park for me.. Luckily the Genny 1 I'm using is a late rev and consumes about the same as the Genny 2, but far less than the original Genny 1.
    Last edited by evildragon; 01-16-2008 at 01:40 PM.

  11. #31
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Longhorn Engineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm currently studing EE at UT

    If that ribbon cable works out for you I will have to find a local source to obtain it. I was using standard HDD cable.
    Last edited by Longhorn Engineer; 01-16-2008 at 02:59 PM.

  12. #32
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Longhorn Engineer View Post
    I'm currently studing EE at UT

    If that ribbon cable works out for you I will have to find a local source to obtain it. I was using standard HD cable.
    Heh, I'm not "certified" or anything like that, self taught myself, and do quite well.

    HD cable, be it 40 conductor or 80 conductor UDMA, is just like that, too thin. This ribbon is slightly thicker.. Sadly it's only in "3 conductor" from the computer, but that's cause it only carries the RGB signal, the larger ribbon carries GND, H Sync, V Sync, PWR, Audio L, Audio R, etc, to the all in one chassis.

    I'll use the thick ribbon for that, RGB, and the small ribbon (HD 40 conductor size), for GND and C Sync...

    Good thing audio doesn't get mixed in the 32X, and actually takes place on the Genesis itself, so the audio on the Genny will go directly to the AV out.

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...dragon/rib.jpg

  13. #33
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Longhorn Engineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ideally you would want each wire individually shielded but I couldn't find anything that thin. I guess you could spiral wrap the wires with some aluminum strands and ground it but that would be alot of work. Maybe next time I will make a jig to do it for me.

  14. #34
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yea, then shrink wrap it.. But, if Apple didn't need to, and only had a single ferrite bead and passed FCC regulations like that, I'm fine.

  15. #35
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, I finished it but apparently, there is a bad connection somewhere because the game wont boot. I'm about 95% sure it's one of the wires that goes to the 32x. I'll look it over tomorrow.

  16. #36
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Make sure you got the RGB GND CSync lines coming from the Genesis into the correct pads on the 32X.. That's the only thing that needs to go into the 32X's video mixer.. 32X will generate it's own Composite video signal. (and Genesis mixes audio by itself)

  17. #37
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I havn't converted those yet, they are still connected normally with the original cable while I do testing. I believe my issue is with one of the soldering points on the 32x itself.

  18. #38
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ok. Just make sure all points are secure, you powered the 32X , and make sure no points are crossed.

  19. #39
    Strawberry (Level 2) Nitrosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    514
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I double checked and everything is perfect and yes my 32x is on lol.It still wont work. Everything powers up and the screen stays black. The tv recognizes a device but that's about it.

  20. #40
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hmm, perhaps one of your wires broke from inside, or isn't making good contact..

    I know one test, but it's VERY long to do. Use a multimeter on continuity and test each point.

Similar Threads

  1. The Sega Neptune
    By ReaXan in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 07-19-2016, 11:02 AM
  2. Sega Neptune 3D Model
    By DK1105 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 08-27-2014, 10:40 PM
  3. How to build a Sega Neptune
    By Longhorn Engineer in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-17-2008, 12:33 PM
  4. Sega Neptune
    By alec006 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 05:00 AM
  5. Did the Sega Neptune ever come out?
    By Anthony1 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-11-2003, 09:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •