Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 3DO Battery + Storage Help

  1. #1
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Home is where the ATARI is
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default 3DO Battery + Storage Help

    I am storing my 3DO away for awhile, and I was wondering if I should worry about the system battery. I took the battery out of the Saturn before storing it, but I was wondering if I should/can remove the system battery on the 3DO. I have the Panasonic FZ-1 model, and I am worried about forgetting it, then the battery leaking and damaging the system.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Ladd Spencer (Level 17) Captain Wrong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    twiddle your ball sack Indiana
    Posts
    9,092
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Captain Wrong
    PSN
    Captain Wrong

    Default

    It's just one of those button type batteries, right? I haven't seen one of those button types leak, but I guess it all depends on how it's being stored.

    You'd probably be ok with it in there, but better safe than sorry.

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Home is where the ATARI is
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Part of the problem is that I don't even know where the battery is located! It's not like the saturn, where it is right in the back. So, I have no idea what it looks like or what type it is.

    There used to be some pics of the insides of the 3DO, but I can't find them anymore... Any more help?

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Are you "sure" it has a battery? I thought it used NVRAM to save, which is Non Volatile RAM. The non volatile means it stores data with no power.

    I have a "dead" 3do I could dissect for battery research if you want (I'm curious too) but my personal FZ-1 isn't broke, so I aint' fixing it!
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  5. #5
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Home is where the ATARI is
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omnedon
    Are you "sure" it has a battery? I thought it used NVRAM to save, which is Non Volatile RAM. The non volatile means it stores data with no power.

    I have a "dead" 3do I could dissect for battery research if you want (I'm curious too) but my personal FZ-1 isn't broke, so I aint' fixing it!
    No, I am not sure at all! I just assumed that it used a battery like the Saturn did. Thanks for the info. Now, I can safely put it in storage without worrying about it.

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: Sega Nomad battery case or battery pack
    By bigbacon in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2013, 11:34 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-05-2013, 09:28 PM
  3. 2032 Battery clips and a rechargable battery
    By aclbandit in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 08:46 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2009, 05:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •