Page 17 of 28 FirstFirst ... 713141516171819202127 ... LastLast
Results 321 to 340 of 545

Thread: RetroDuo NES/SNES Clone Official Thread. Castlevania III, StarFox WORK, SMRPG WARNING

  1. #321
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kedawa View Post
    If you have an NES game in the other slot, take it out.
    Are you using composite or s-video?
    I've tried both composite and s-video. I am using a 720p 37" Sharp LCD TV, it has hook-ups for these s-video and composites and I have no other way to hook up (vcr etc). I don't have any games for these systems except FF:MQ to test if maybe it's the system (which I'm doubting/hoping not since its brand new). The game worked fine at the pawn shop without being cleaned.

  2. #322
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Sorry I've been dragging my feet on updating the main compatiblity list. I'll get to it this weekend.

    Thanks for the continued input!!!!
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  3. #323
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    There's a Limited Edition of the RetroDuo out right now, but let me say, it's not the most visually appealing console ever made.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Retro-Duo-Super-...QQcmdZViewItem

    And people thought the red/black color scheme looked ugly.

  4. #324
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tupin View Post
    There's a Limited Edition of the RetroDuo out right now, but let me say, it's not the most visually appealing console ever made.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Retro-Duo-Super-...QQcmdZViewItem

    And people thought the red/black color scheme looked ugly.
    Is that some sort of "Iron Man" limited edition?
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  5. #325
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie_Says_Relax View Post
    Is that some sort of "Iron Man" limited edition?
    More like Ronald McDonald.

  6. #326
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Perfect for playing McKids.

  7. #327
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Okay, does anybody's copy of Dragon Warrior I work?

    It works on my NES, but this might be a case like 720 where I had to insert the game in a specific way.

  8. #328
    Strawberry (Level 2) Necrosaro420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Afganistan
    Posts
    502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tupin View Post
    Okay, does anybody's copy of Dragon Warrior I work?

    It works on my NES, but this might be a case like 720 where I had to insert the game in a specific way.
    Just checked mine, works fine

  9. #329
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Okay, Ski Paradise on the Super Famicom works, but it has a glitch that causes some of the area that's supposed to be snow be solid blue.

    Not sure about Tommy Moe's Winter Extreme, someone should try it.

  10. #330
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    Okay, new development. Tried my Famicom Disk System on my Retro Duo (purchased around August of last year) with an adapter and guess what?

    It worked. The BIOS screen was not scrambled, it started up normally and proceeded to have the Mario and Luigi screensaver work. I didn't insert a disk, but I can only assume it would boot past that.

    I guess this proves that there has been revisions on the system, which is cool.

  11. #331
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    near Cincinnati
    Posts
    525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have the red and gold edition coming in the mail. My plan was to keep that one in its box and use my FC3 Plus to play games, but if I can't do anything about the dark picture I get in Genesis games(see my post in the FC3 thread about that) then I may open it to use, ditch the FC3 Plus and get a Genesis instead.

  12. #332
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Auzlander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Great review! I have a Retro Duo and I can't believe that I can play Almost all my classic game on it!

    Great console.

  13. #333
    Cherry (Level 1) Flippy8490's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Burlington, VT
    Posts
    205
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Flippy8490

    Default

    I've tried a RetroDuo, its a pretty solid unit.

  14. #334
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Chemdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Twin cities, MN
    Posts
    109
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    yea this review helped me find the retro duo is a good fit for me, so i recently just got one. plays all my games fine, other than some nes games being a bit hard to pull out its a pretty damn good buy.

  15. #335
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So... in my endless quest to defeat my television's composite input artifacting, I replaced my stereo receiver. While my main motivation was to get digital audio from the new consoles, I also wanted one that performed video upscaling.

    I went with the Harman Kardon AVR-247, and found a good deal on a factory refurbished model. After testing the audio, the first thing that I hooked up to it was the Duo. Upscaling to 480p over HDMI, the composite input looked great... for a few seconds. The beautiful uncorrupted image would float from the bottom to the top of the screen, then flicker and go blank for a few seconds, and it would loop, on both NES and SNES. Same thing with S-Video.

    When I tried the component output, I got a stable image, but the top third was all wavy. The receiver has an A and B output mode, but neither seemed to make a difference on either input.

    I got my N64 to output a stable upscaled image with S-Video, but it was black every other frame. I suppose it's kinda like a stereoscopic effect, but still...

    Dreamcast over S-Video was fine.

    This leads me to believe that the RD is outputting in an odd video format. I know that the NES had off-screen overscan areas, so maybe it's emulating that. I'm wondering if there's any kind of device I can run the signal through to do away with it. A "VGA box" might work, and Yobo makes one that's ~$50 shipped on Amazon.

    I'm beginning to wonder if doing a component mod to my RD would be a better option. Has anybody written up an easy-to-follow guide yet? I'm sure that I could do it, but I'll need more than just a schematic.

  16. #336
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,435
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    ooXxXoo probably knows how to do it.

  17. #337
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    After this, your NES games will sound just fine.....This worked great for me...And if anyone tries this, let me know if it worked for you..
    WOW!
    Thanks a lot ooXxXoo ! Once again you're showing incredible skills!!

    Does your mod restore all the channels in Ninja Gaiden (for example)?

    Too bad I never did any soldering: I'll never be able to do it myself...
    Any chance to buy one Retroduo already modded from you?

    Lanf

  18. #338
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    near Cincinnati
    Posts
    525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've found Wisdom Tree games hard to insert and remove due to the plastic case being designed differently.

    You should be able to use the Yobo FC Twin Zapper, theoretically, since it has the SNES plug.

  19. #339
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Another thought: does the RetroDuo Red & Gold Limited Edition solves the NES sound problem?

    Also, there is a Silver/Black color available: is there any hardware modifications?

  20. #340
    Lightgunner Custom rank graphic
    Cryomancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Southern Central WI
    Posts
    3,748
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Cryomancer

    Default

    Alright, we got a red&gold one. Let me know if you guys have specific questions about stuff and how I can test it. I don't have tons of games though.

    I've noticed that the NES slot on this thing is way too tight, games pretty much have to be wiggled into and out of the thing, and two pins are already popping up. Pushing them back down seems to make the games go in much better so it's probably them causing the problem. Is this common? Any fix? Sorry if it's been covered but I didn't feel like reading 9 pages to see right this moment.

Similar Threads

  1. RetroDuo and PowerPak - CF brands that work?
    By Bub_and_Bob in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 08:27 AM
  2. The New Official Castlevania Thread!
    By RadiantSvgun in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 10-18-2009, 06:05 AM
  3. European SNES carts don't work on clone systems?
    By Tupin in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2008, 08:27 PM
  4. Like the RetroDuo, should there be a TurboGrafx clone?
    By Manhattan Sports Club in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 11:03 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 10:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •