Page 5 of 28 FirstFirst 12345678915 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 545

Thread: RetroDuo NES/SNES Clone Official Thread. Castlevania III, StarFox WORK, SMRPG WARNING

  1. #81
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That was the first thing I did ....some cutting around inside and change the rubber pads...but still wasn't enough at least with the black controllers...Then,realized that it was the actual D-pad.They are very thin molded compared to the Original SNES ones.

  2. #82
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    I should have those test videos up tonight.

    Spoiler alert : the only thing we couldn't get to run on the NES side of things was Rolling Thunder.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  3. #83
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Those dpads are awful. I can't imagine how anyone could like them. if you press too hard all four directions can be pressed at the same time. It's like they don't even have the little rocker peg in the middle.

  4. #84
    Insert Coin (Level 0) lovablechevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    tennessee
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kedawa View Post
    Those dpads are awful. I can't imagine how anyone could like them. if you press too hard all four directions can be pressed at the same time. It's like they don't even have the little rocker peg in the middle.
    umm... ok... have you tried switching out the pads on the inside? i definitely do not EVER have that problem. or maybe you just press too hard to begin with.

  5. #85
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Blitzwing256's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    2,038
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    blitzwing256
    PSN
    blitzwing256

    Default

    hey consider that a feature, for example in link to the past if you hit up and down at the same time you can preform a walk through walls glitch ;-)

  6. #86
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lovablechevy View Post
    umm... ok... have you tried switching out the pads on the inside? i definitely do not EVER have that problem. or maybe you just press too hard to begin with.
    I had to press pretty hard to get any direction to register. Applying the same amount of force to the middle of the pad caused the entire '+' to drop.

  7. #87
    Insert Coin (Level 0) lovablechevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    tennessee
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kedawa View Post
    I had to press pretty hard to get any direction to register. Applying the same amount of force to the middle of the pad caused the entire '+' to drop.
    like i said: "have you tried switching out the pads on the inside?" i never claimed that the controllers in their original out-of-the-box newness are good. in fact, in my review i even state that the controllers are the one thing i don't like about the system. that is, until i swapped the pads around. and yes, the d-pad does have the rocker peg.

  8. #88
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie_Says_Relax View Post
    I should have those test videos up tonight.

    Spoiler alert : the only thing we couldn't get to run on the NES side of things was Rolling Thunder.
    Sorry, still dragging my feet on this one.

    Been busy this week.

    All the video files are on my HDD, I just need to do a few quick edits and get them up on my YouTube.

    It'll happen soon, I promise.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  9. #89
    Kirby (Level 13) Leo_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5,871
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You guys happen to test any SuperNes games? I'm still curious if Top Gear 3000 plays correctly. I can't seem to locate my cart.

  10. #90
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leo_Ames View Post
    You guys happen to test any SuperNes games? I'm still curious if Top Gear 3000 plays correctly. I can't seem to locate my cart.
    I don't have a very extensive SNES collection ... but I'll do my best to remember that one for future testing sessions.

    Other R.D. owners, if you've got access to that title, please give it a test.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  11. #91
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Here I go again!....
    ATTENTION RETRO DUO OWNERS!
    I'm the owner of 3 Retro Duo systems...each have a different revision made to their motherboard....I've found a major flop in one of them(only in the 16 bit SNES side,the NES side runs on its own)...At the beggining I wasn't sure until I did further testing...One of my Retro Duo's(white model) while playing it,I noticed that the sound was horribly off and distorded,including the sound effects that some games produce.Every game sounded as if it was running so slow compared to the original SNES or the other Retro Duo's sounds....tooked a closer look at the guts of the system,did my algebra and voila!...Found the problem...It seems that at some point the en-sambling factory ran out of parts and decided to replace with others instead...Again this problem may be with some revisions ONLY...So,if you think that you may have this issue with your Retro Duo,I'm currently writing a tutorial on "how to do it yourself fix" that I will be posting at my site,especially if your guarantee has expired and there is no way to return it....But it is essential for me to find on how many systems with this problem could be out there.....Please let me know if possible....
    By the way,I found other problems regarding the ribbon cables of the Retro Duo,they have the tendency to break easily,so if your composite video,audio,s-video or even power has gone from your RetroDuo,is more likely a failure with a ribbon cable,an Easy fix but it can be a pain!...I'll try to write another repair tutorial for this as well....Don't give me wrong I still love my RDuo's but I'm trying to recognise the problems before they pop up on me!

  12. #92
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    Here I go again!....
    ATTENTION RETRO DUO OWNERS!
    I'm the owner of 3 Retro Duo systems...each have a different revision made to their motherboard....I've found a major flop in one of them(only in the 16 bit SNES side,the NES side runs on its own)...At the beggining I wasn't sure until I did further testing...One of my Retro Duo's(white model) while playing it,I noticed that the sound was horribly off and distorded,including the sound effects that some games produce.Every game sounded as if it was running so slow compared to the original SNES or the other Retro Duo's sounds....tooked a closer look at the guts of the system,did my algebra and voila!...Found the problem...It seems that at some point the en-sambling factory ran out of parts and decided to replace with others instead...Again this problem may be with some revisions ONLY...So,if you think that you may have this issue with your Retro Duo,I'm currently writing a tutorial on "how to do it yourself fix" that I will be posting at my site,especially if your guarantee has expired and there is no way to return it....But it is essential for me to find on how many systems with this problem could be out there.....Please let me know if possible....
    By the way,I found other problems regarding the ribbon cables of the Retro Duo,they have the tendency to break easily,so if your composite video,audio,s-video or even power has gone from your RetroDuo,is more likely a failure with a ribbon cable,an Easy fix but it can be a pain!...I'll try to write another repair tutorial for this as well....Don't give me wrong I still love my RDuo's but I'm trying to recognise the problems before they pop up on me!
    And as you move forward in your research, we admire your determination to explore the advances, revisions, and limitations of the system's design.

    Please continue to share everything that you find and/or any modification/repair schematics that you devise!
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  13. #93
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Smile

    Anyone try one of these with a PowerPak?

  14. #94
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by remowilliams View Post
    Anyone try one of these with a PowerPak?
    I don't have one ... so far they've been a bit too expensive (and very rarely in-stock on RetroUSB) for me to buy for my NES collection.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  15. #95
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  16. #96
    Peach (Level 3) GnawRadar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA/Runnemede, NJ
    Posts
    783
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    GnawRadar

    Default

    I don't believe he has posted it yet, but I heard GrandAmChandler went to pull a cart out, I'm not sure if it was SNES or NES, out of the RetroDuo and the pin connector came out with it. Has anyone else had this problem or heard of this problem?

  17. #97
    Insert Coin (Level 0) lovablechevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    tennessee
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GnawRadar View Post
    I don't believe he has posted it yet, but I heard GrandAmChandler went to pull a cart out, I'm not sure if it was SNES or NES, out of the RetroDuo and the pin connector came out with it. Has anyone else had this problem or heard of this problem?
    have not heard anything like that before. my retro duos have very firm pin connectors. in fact, i'm trying to remove one for a project i'm working on and am having tons of problems getting it off!

  18. #98
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GnawRadar View Post
    I don't believe he has posted it yet, but I heard GrandAmChandler went to pull a cart out, I'm not sure if it was SNES or NES, out of the RetroDuo and the pin connector came out with it. Has anyone else had this problem or heard of this problem?
    Yes it is very possible.....When I was looking into the guts of my retro duo's I noticed that the NES cartridge port in one of them was missing a screw to hold it down in place....so,with a good amount of force I'm sure it can come completely loose. And like I mention before,the ribbon cables can be easy become broken as well...
    Last edited by ooXxXoo; 04-10-2008 at 10:51 AM.

  19. #99
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sounds like a clone alright.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  20. #100
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie_Says_Relax View Post
    I don't have one ... so far they've been a bit too expensive (and very rarely in-stock on RetroUSB) for me to buy for my NES collection.
    Holy Moly - I can't believe it - the PowerPak DOES work with the RetroDuo. AFAIK - first clone ever to do so!

Similar Threads

  1. RetroDuo and PowerPak - CF brands that work?
    By Bub_and_Bob in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 09:27 AM
  2. The New Official Castlevania Thread!
    By RadiantSvgun in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 100
    Last Post: 10-18-2009, 07:05 AM
  3. European SNES carts don't work on clone systems?
    By Tupin in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2008, 09:27 PM
  4. Like the RetroDuo, should there be a TurboGrafx clone?
    By Manhattan Sports Club in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 12:03 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2008, 11:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •