Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Snes that won't display video

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2) Mason P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    428
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Snes that won't display video

    A few days ago I had an urge to play Final Fantasy III. I never got around to playing it when it came out, so I broke out the cart and pluged it in to the SNES. I turned the TV to the right imput and powered on the sysem.This was the old faithful system that I had when it came out (faded and all), so when I heard the music and no image i thought it need a reset. So here I go again. I reinsert the cart and power it on a second time, still no image. Well I started to doubt the cart. I then pulled out Final Fantasy II, SoulBlazer,Chrono Trigger, and an NCAA game. Not one showed up on screen.

    Now I figure the system no longer works. Ok, I can live with that (not that I am happy about it mind you). I pull a "Like New" system out of its box that I had on display and plug it up to the same cords the old one was using and...........NOTHING!!! The same thing happened again. I got sound but no video. So I decided that the chords might be bad. I then replaced the video chord and nothing changed. I sat back and thought what might cause this. I made sure the TV was on th right imput, also checking the imput was still working with another system. I then cleaned the games I was testing (these games are in a big glass Nintendo display case), nothing came off the contacts. I thought I was loosing my mind.

    Thinking it was a setting on the television, I got up took the new power supply, video cable, the 2 systems and 2 games downstairs to another television. Same thing again, but this time no sound. Both systems, nothing. I got everything together and tried the last TV in the house a 19" stereo tube tv. The most basic of basic. And you guessed it again, NOTHING!!!

    Next day i got a SNES mini from a guy at a shop and tested it on the first TV in the same imput jacks. BINGO!! it works. I am so confuesd. why would this work and the other 2 just stop working. I havent tested the "Minty" system in 1 year but it worked great then, and the old SNES work just 3 months earlier.

    Any advise or did I just have bad luck with 2 system just die on me?

    Thanks,
    Mason
    YouTube: MasonSushi---- http://www.youtube.com/user/masonsushi
    NintendoAge: MasonSushi
    Licensed NES- Complete....32X Complete
    N64- Complete....Master System (CIB)- 8 left
    TG-16 Hu - Complete

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    RF or AV cables? If one, try the other.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  3. #3
    Strawberry (Level 2) Mason P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    428
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The s-video cables were the ones hooked up to the TV first. The second cables that I tried were the new stereo ones from the box.

    Thanks for the reply
    YouTube: MasonSushi---- http://www.youtube.com/user/masonsushi
    NintendoAge: MasonSushi
    Licensed NES- Complete....32X Complete
    N64- Complete....Master System (CIB)- 8 left
    TG-16 Hu - Complete

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    do you still get sound from them both on the first tv you tried? or are they just dead now? and did you use the same power cable on both units at first? is the power cable official nintendo?
    there has to be something linking the problem between two units.

  5. #5
    Strawberry (Level 2) Mason P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    428
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes I did use the same power adaptor with both units and it is an offical Nintendo power chord. With the new mini SNES I got, i tried the video and power chord with the "minty" SNES and still nothing. I think the systems just died or something. I can explain it.
    YouTube: MasonSushi---- http://www.youtube.com/user/masonsushi
    NintendoAge: MasonSushi
    Licensed NES- Complete....32X Complete
    N64- Complete....Master System (CIB)- 8 left
    TG-16 Hu - Complete

  6. #6
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    often a power cable can fail and blow fuses in consoles (though less often with official ones). it shouldnt explain audio only, but maybe it was producing something funky before it went.

    theres one main fuse in every snes, it's easy to replace if that's the case. have you got a gamebit screwdriver?

  7. #7
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    just a little comment to keep in mind..The newer design mini slim SNES 2 system does not output s-video thru the original A/V port..Nintendo "forgot" to add the signals to it!...
    Although,there is a way to re-gain the s-video access back to the new Slim SNES2

    With your other older model SNES issue,I'll say it could be a loose A/V connector or a bad A/V cable...
    Do you have the proper tool to open the SNES case to take a closer look at the inside of the board near the A/V port?

    But if you don't longer get nothing at all not even sound,as phreak97 suggests,is more likely a fuse problem.
    Last edited by ooXxXoo; 04-04-2008 at 10:32 AM.

  8. #8
    Casual Collector Custom rank graphic
    RadiantSvgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,619
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Shotmastarich
    PSN
    Radiantsvgun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    just a little comment to keep in mind..The newer design mini slim SNES 2 system does not output s-video thru the original A/V port..Nintendo "forgot" to add the signals to it!...

    With your other older model SNES issue,I'll say it could be a loose A/V connector or a bad A/V cable...
    Do you have the proper tool to open the SNES case to take a closer look at the inside of the board near the A/V port?
    That explains a lot! I was wondering why my S-video cable wasn't working!

    I've got the same problem with one of my SNES.... powers on, but no audio or video.
    www.famicomshop.com -best place for famicom stuff. Run by a DP member.
    Radiant's Ongoing Ebay Auctions

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    the reason i dont think it is that problem is that he has already said he tried with two different consoles, and two different av cables. theres a near zero chance that both his consoles would fail without an external reason.

    radiant, you just gave me a thought.

    mason, does the power light still come on on both consoles? if it does then it isnt a fuse.

  10. #10
    Strawberry (Level 2) Mason P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    428
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the reply guys.

    As for the Bit, I dont have one yet. i ned to find one. I know I can get one from ebay, but was hoping to get one in a hardware store. Does any of the main stores carry them?

    As fas the systems go, the power lights come on, but no video.

    I have tried different video cables. I thought that to be the problem, but they don't work with any of them. This is very confusing.

    Guys thanks for all the advise and help.
    YouTube: MasonSushi---- http://www.youtube.com/user/masonsushi
    NintendoAge: MasonSushi
    Licensed NES- Complete....32X Complete
    N64- Complete....Master System (CIB)- 8 left
    TG-16 Hu - Complete

  11. #11
    Strawberry (Level 2) phreak97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    592
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    phreak97

    Default

    hmm, that means it isnt the fuse.. you've tried the consoles with the power and av cables from the snes jr?
    how many different games have you tried?

  12. #12
    Strawberry (Level 2) Mason P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    428
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I will try the Mini's plugs when I get home tonight. As far as the the games, I would guess to say about 6.
    YouTube: MasonSushi---- http://www.youtube.com/user/masonsushi
    NintendoAge: MasonSushi
    Licensed NES- Complete....32X Complete
    N64- Complete....Master System (CIB)- 8 left
    TG-16 Hu - Complete

Similar Threads

  1. Video Game Display NES-GC Eras
    By InboRenge in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 09:09 AM
  2. Should I buy this SNES Display??
    By UnpluggedClone in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 04:13 PM
  3. TurboDuo doesn't display video
    By GarrettCRW in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-22-2006, 05:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •