Thread: RGB mods? Why are there no YPbPr mods!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

Default RGB mods? Why are there no YPbPr mods!

I see RGB mods for various older systems all the time. I would LOVE to do some of these but it seems like a hassel and i'm not really tech savvy.

Lets say I sucsessfully RGB mod my system of choice. Here in the US (in my opinion) it's just not practical. From what I understand, to make use of my newly RGB modded system I have to either A) Keep an old computer monitor around B) Import A TV from Europ that has RGB/SCART connections or C) Get an XRGB converter? Please correct me if i'm wrong!

RGB just seems like a big hassel to me, but it got me thinking; Why are there no YPbPr mods for older systems? From what I understand it's basically the same thing as RGB and it would work with most US TVs bought in the past 5 years or so. My Toshiba CRT has YPbPr inputs and I couldn't imagine how good my Genesis or NES would look with that connection.
    If a god is willing to prevent evil, but not able, then he is not omnipotent. If he is able, but not willing, then he must be malevolent. If he is both willing and able, then why is there evil? If he is neither able or willing then why call him a god?

Cherry (Level 1)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

analog rgb is the purest video signal in 99% of systems out today. only topped by digital video.
    once you have that you can convert to what you need. almost all systems after the nes have rgb on the video out port or internally.
    in most case its just a matter of making a cable and in a few cases making a rgb amp to boost the brightness.
    The hardest systems to mod for rgb is the nes and the 3do, 3do being the hardest.
    right now i think i am the only one that knows how to and has done it in the last decade or more.
    i have instructions on how to do it on a few forums.