Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Wanting To Learn Assembly

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Newbie Wanting To Learn Assembly

I want to learn assembly for older games.. 8-bit and 16-bit. I have no experience in any programming language whatsoever.

What's a good site that will teach me assembly or what should I go about learning this?

Note: I'm posting this thread in several different sites so you might see this thread elsewhere.. just wanna get the quickest reply..

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

It somewhat depends on how motivated you are. But since you have never done any programming before, I would recommend taking a class.

Programming isn't something you can just "pick up". You need to learn the basics that are common or related to many programming languages. Then you can focus on the type of programming that interests you most.

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Superman View Post
    It somewhat depends on how motivated you are. But since you have never done any programming before, I would recommend taking a class.

Programming isn't something you can just "pick up". You need to learn the basics that are common or related to many programming languages. Then you can focus on the type of programming that interests you most.
    Thanks for the quick reply.

Sorry, I wouldn't want to take a class on it. I am motivated to learn this though..

And I was hoping there'd be a few websites that would teach me enough to experiment on my own and learn different things on my own.

Super Moderator Moderator
    Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    111 Posts

Heh, yeah, if it was that easy to pick up a programming language, then programmers wouldn't be in such high demand and paid so well.