Thread: Should I include shipping charges in my auction?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Should I include shipping charges in my auction?

I have listed my first sale in ebay and I said the buyer will pay actual shipping changes and no handling charges. Should I estimate the shipping changes and put that in the "shipping information" area? As I said I am new to selling and wanted some advice from people who do sell on ebay. Thanks.
    Eicay varee', eisee' nardee'
    Can you dig it, yes I can.

Great Puma (Level 12)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

As a frequent ebay buyer, I don't bid unless I know how much the S&H charge will be. I've seen and heard about too many outrageous S&H charges. I suppose that if a seller tried to impose a huge S&H, I could report them to ebay for fee avoidance, but I can do without the headache from the beginning.

I think that this is why many people just post a flat rate S&H charge in the auction. This way, the potential bidder doesn't have to contact the seller and can adjust the bid based on what the final total cost would be.

Now, you've said that the buyer will pay only actual shipping, no handling. So you'll have to go to the post office, get them to tell you how much for shipping, and then go back home to tell the buyer how much the total is? Sounds like a pain in the ass. And you're out of pocket for the packaging, and say goodbye to the time and gas of going to the post office to check.

Of course, if you're only doing this once, and it's a high-priced item, then I suppose that the hassle might be worth it. But if all that hassle is for an $8.00 videogame...
    (\ /)
    (O.o) ---XBL GT: RHINDLE
    (><)
    /_|_\ ---PH34R TEH BUNNY

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts