Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Used Wrong A/c Adapter On Retro Duo Console

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Used Wrong A/c Adapter On Retro Duo Console

    Well, I messed up. I have a Retro Duo console (black cmbo SNES, NES) I have only used it once, it worked fine, I moved and accidently plugged in the wrong a/c adapter, I realized it when the lights started to flash. It uses a 5 v adapter, I plugged in a 12 v , it was only left in for about 30 seconds, the lights flashed and I unplugged it. I replaced the a/c adapter with the actual one an tried it out.The colors for the sysytem lights had swapped, the 8 bit was green and the 16 bit was red, its supposed to be the oppisite. The games would not display, I tried the system with different cords, with different tv's and nothing, I know I am probably putting off the fact that I fried it, but does anyone have any info, on what damage I may have done, or what if anything there may be that I can do to repair it. Thanks for the help...

  2. #2
    Peach (Level 3) Atari 5200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    756
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You fried it. Get another one.
    Tea is for terrorists-Leo Laporte

    Klingons Invented Saran Wrap

  3. #3
    Pretzel (Level 4) ssjlance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    835
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ditto.

  4. #4
    Banned

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I was reading that there is a fuse in various game systems. Maybe it has one and you can replace it.

  5. #5
    Peach (Level 3) izarate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    603
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If it was a blown fuse the unit wouldn't power up.

    Most likely, you blew it up with the 12V AC adapter since, unlike most consoles, the Retro Duo doesn't have and internal voltage regulator. The voltage is regulated at the AC adapter.
    Last edited by izarate; 06-03-2008 at 12:46 AM.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You don't fix clones. You replace them.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-22-2013, 03:08 AM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-18-2012, 08:05 PM
  3. Retro-bit 3 in1 Universal AC Adapter
    By MrNelson in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 07:31 AM
  4. retro-bit RetroGen Adapter - bare board pics
    By nusilver in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-05-2012, 06:54 PM
  5. 360 wifi adapter, retro duo, game.com more for sale
    By otaku in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 01:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •