Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Did I fry my system?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    64
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Did I fry my system?

    I accidentally plugged the wrong power cord into my Sega Master System. It was 12v instead of 9v. I just cleaned it out, and it worked fine after that, but after checking a cleaned game, I plugged the wrong power supply in, and now it won't turn on. Is there anything I can do? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Fresno CA USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Might want to check this out.

    http://www.mrvfone.com.au/sega/fuse.htm

    I would take a multi-meter and narow down the power break. Might just be this fuse.
    Check out my want list and console collections
    http://evolvingconsole.com

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    64
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by selfdestroyer View Post
    Might want to check this out.

    http://www.mrvfone.com.au/sega/fuse.htm

    I would take a multi-meter and narow down the power break. Might just be this fuse.
    Thanks for the help. Unofortunately, I do not know enough about electronics, nor do I have the necessary equipment for that.

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Tx Metromess
    Posts
    203
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Where are you located? If you're in the Dallas area you can stop by with it and I can check the fuse.

    RJ

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    64
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by channelmaniac View Post
    Where are you located? If you're in the Dallas area you can stop by with it and I can check the fuse.

    RJ
    I am in Oregon . I appreciate the offer though.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You probably blew the voltage regulator. It will likely need to be removed, and a new one popped in.
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    64
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Where could I get a volatage regulator, and how would I replace my current one?

  8. #8
    Banned

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    400
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    How does the regulator blow at 12v? Aren't they rated to 18v or something like that?

  9. #9
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yes,The IC power regulator is not always the problem....Infact, I have fixed a few SMS with different power related issues....Unfortunately, a little of electronic components knowledge is needed....
    But if you want to give it a shot, you can easily find the 7805 IC power regulator at your local Radio Shack ( for a couple of bucks)...Soldering iron and such is required....
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    64
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    Yes,The IC power regulator is not always the problem....Infact, I have fixed a few SMS with different power related issues....Unfortunately, a little of electronic components knowledge is needed....
    But if you want to give it a shot, you can easily find the 7805 IC power regulator at your local Radio Shack ( for a couple of bucks)...Soldering iron and such is required....
    So what exactly would I do to fix it? Thanks.

  11. #11
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It depends in the Sega Master System motherboard revision that you may have....I've seen some that use an axial fuse....
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1) channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Tx Metromess
    Posts
    203
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ooXxXoo View Post
    It depends in the Sega Master System motherboard revision that you may have....I've seen some that use an axial fuse....
    These axial fuses can sometimes look like a little resistor soldered into the board. Look closely at them and they'll have an amperage rating on the side in small print. I've seen 'em in yellow, green, white, and black so you'll have to look closely to find it.

    RJ

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 10:29 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 01:24 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2008, 09:24 AM
  4. WTB:SNES system/32x system/sega cd system
    By GWEEDO in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2005, 03:55 AM
  5. fs/ft:snes system,genesis 2 system,nes system
    By pookninja in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 05:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •