Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Advice on a possible buy.

Peach (Level 3)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Advice on a possible buy.

I recently come across a guy selling some arcade games in my area. He has a few, but the only one I am interested in is a Joust machine. The problem is it is not working. He says the coin door lights power up, but thats it, but claims cosmetically it is in really nice shape. He gave me a price of $300, which I think is a bit steep for a non-working game.

My questions are: Does it sound like an easy fix or no way to tell??

What's a fair price to offer??

I have no knowledge on fixing these games, but am willing to try if its not too complicated. Normally I would not try on something non-working, but Joust is one of my favorites.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

The two main things that fail on the Williams boards are ram and power supply. I've fixed many of these by just replacing both.

The price seems pretty good if it's complete and in overall good condition.
    Check out www.videogameconsolelibrary.com for all of your console review needs!

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Cool

there's 2 many out there forsale, for that price, wait and find one working........

Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

I'm no expert by any means ... but I can tell you that replacement monitors aren't cheap.

If you can't confirm that that's fully working, I'd stay away at that price.

Or throw a low ball offer at him with that justification.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"

Thanks Thanks Given