Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: white screen on the top of DS

  1. #1
    Bell (Level 8) darkslime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,787
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    b0xwater
    PSN
    is_vigilante

    Default white screen on the top of DS

    I have a DS fat where the top screen lights up but only shows white.

    Anyone know what's wrong with this?

  2. #2
    Crono (Level 14) Pantechnicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Alburquerque
    Posts
    6,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Zeno2112

    Default

    More than likely the top screen needs to be replaced. DealExtreme in Hong Kong sells replacement units for about $16 including shipping.

    On that note (and hence my bumping of this thread), I'm having a related issue in trying to repair my own model I DS top screen.

    The problem began with my top screen going white, so I put in a replacement display, but now only get intermittent clear display. More often than not the graphics are scrambled horizontally or sometimes back to just plain white. I assumed maybe I just got a bad replacement unit, so I ordered a second one and the problem persists.

    So does anyone have any ideas what the problem might exactly be? Assuming both of my replacement displays are in fact functional, I believe the problem may be with one of the the display cable connectors on the card behind the right speaker. There are three flat cables going into this card: One going from the main board to the card, the other two - one large and one small - going into the display. The point of failure is probably one of these three connectors because the ribbon cables all look okay - no cracks or anything. Any input would be helpful.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    try reconnecting the lcd That have work in a couple of systems hope that helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Turbo grafx 16 white screen problem
    By SEgamer in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-03-2010, 04:01 PM
  2. Star Fox Command card gives a white screen.
    By Loremaster in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-29-2010, 01:35 AM
  3. BLue and white checkered screen with xbox 360.
    By WhatsMyUsername in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-28-2009, 09:33 AM
  4. Famicom White Screen?
    By jcalder8 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 03:56 PM
  5. Turbo Grafx 16 CD SYstem - White Screen Question?
    By Necrosaro420 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 01:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •