Thread: Classic Online Gaming

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Question Classic Online Gaming

Hello Everyone,

My name is Brent and I am doing some research on classic / retro "Online Gaming". I first found out about the GameLine for the Atari about 6 - 7 months ago and can't get enough of these types of things. I am looking for anyone who has any information or first hand experience with any of these systems. I have been scouring EBay for a few months now to try and find some of these rare additions but with no luck so far.

Below is a list, it would be much appreciated if anyone can point out anything that I am missing or if anyone can provide any information on these things.

Cable Vision - Service for the Odyssey that was never realised. It involved broadcasting lifelike static images over cable and allowing the Odyssey to overlay it's graphics.

PlayCable - Cable service for the Intellivision, allowed to download
    games from cable provider for a monthly fee.

GameLine - Telephone based service for downloading games to the Atari

Famicom Modem - Telephone based service for the Japanese Famicom that allowed Japanese weather updates and online banking.

Sega Channel - Cable service for the Sega Genesis. Allowed for game
    downloads and video game related news.

Satellaview - Satellite service for the SNES that allowed for video
    game downlods and additional game content.

Sega Meganet - Telephone based service for the Genesis that allowed
    for competitive play.

Xband - Third party telephone based service that provided email
    services and online competitive play.

Netlink (Saturn) - Peer-to-peer telephone based service that enabled
    online competitive play.

Seganet (Dreamcast) - ISP service for the Dreamcast that allowed for
    additional content and game downloads.

RandNet - ISP service for the Nintendo 64 DD which allowed for
    additional content and game downloads.