Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Saturn Import Carts

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2) Jasonbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Saturn Import Carts

    Can somebody please tell me if an ST-Key or an Action Replay Plus will allow one to play CD-R backups of one's games?

    Thank you,
    -Jason

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1) jupitersj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    214
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    jupitersj
    PSN
    jupitersj

    Default

    No; only a modchip allows this.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't think it is a good idea to play cd-r's on a Saturn... it makes lots of strange noises...

  4. #4
    Kirby (Level 13) norkusa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    5,830
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eduardobenvenuti View Post
    I don't think it is a good idea to play cd-r's on a Saturn... it makes lots of strange noises...
    Maybe you're using bad media to burn them? I've got a chipped Saturn and it's very quiet when I play cd-r's. Sounds no different than when I play legit discs.

  5. #5
    Lamer Gamer Custom rank graphic
    G-Boobie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,650
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Geoffvdl
    PSN
    Geoffvdl

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eduardobenvenuti View Post
    I don't think it is a good idea to play cd-r's on a Saturn... it makes lots of strange noises...
    Assuming you have yer console modded to play backups, there is nothing wrong with playing them in your Saturn. You may want to check the lens in your machine. It might need cleaning.

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    My Saturn makes no sound when reading original media, but gets noisy with cd-r's... I guess I'll try again with a different media!!!

  7. #7
    Strawberry (Level 2) Jasonbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jupitersj View Post
    No; only a modchip allows this.
    Thanks--I confirmed this to be true indeed.

    -Jason

  8. #8
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Not so. I have found you can play back-ups via the following method. Yes, it's a disk swap, but it's safe. You never need to grind the motor to a halt with this method.

    Requirements:

    - Model 1 (Oval buttons) Saturn unit - Open the case and tape the disk top switch so the lid can be open and function as it were closed.
    - AR+, 4in1 etc (ST-Key type will not work, you need the menu to select start app)
    - (1) each of a First Party and Third Party original Saturn disks at the ready for swap

    Method:

    - Identify whether the back-up you wish to run is First or Third party (the disk detection/protection is based on this)
    - Load the appropriate original disk into the Saturn with the cheat cart plugged in. Leaving the tray open, boot the system and wait for the cheat device menu.
    - After the disk completes the check and stops spinning, remove the original and replace with the back up. Close the lid now.
    - Hit "Start Game" in the cheat device menu. The back up will load without a mod chip.

    I've tested this on two different model 1 systems and it worked on both. For some reason, this has not worked on any Model 2 system that has come into my possession. Try it, you might get surprised.

    Drop and play is nice, but this can serve until you can turn out a modded system.

    Burn low and slow. Be kind to your laser.
    Last edited by Icarus Moonsight; 02-04-2009 at 07:04 PM.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) Jasonbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks, Icarus, but I tried this & it didn't work for me. I have a Saturn with round buttons. The sticker on the back says it's model MK-80000A.

    There's no visible door switch in the CD tray area.

    I booted Virtua Fighter 2 with the AR+, opened the door & swapped to a CD-R copy of Die Hard Arcade, a Sega game (I received no complaints or notices about the door opening), selected Start Game, and then I got the same disc spinning/laser searching that I did when I tried to boot the CD-R game straight...

    I tried a handful of CD-Rs with Sega (1st party) & non-Sega (3rd party) games for both the originals & copies.

    Any further ideas?

    Thanks,
    -Jason

  10. #10
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I haven't found the safe swap to work with round button units, but that doesn't mean it won't (I've only tried 1 Sanyo and 3 JVC drive round button units).

    You have to open the case to access the lid detect switch. It's to the top and left of the drive assembly viewed from the front. Use a circular band of tape to hold the switch in the proper position. Also note (I forgot to mention this in my last post), you can't tape the lid switch all the way down and get it to work. You have to monkey a bit and find the sweet spot. Easiest way is to open up your case, tape the switch, load a disk on the drive spindle and connect a power cable and turn it on while the unit is still open. If the disk doesn't spin, you're gonna have to re-tape the switch either tighter or looser. Repeat tinkering until it spins. A simple plug, spring or paper clip is not going to defeat the lid switch on the Saturn as it does on the PS1/PSOne.

    If all this still doesn't work for you, you're looking at either a DYI mod chip install in your current model 2 unit (I suggest not going this route if you have a PC Trap Sanyo Drive <-- Read about my Sanyo woes and a possible solution from Bratwurst in this thread if you're inclined. Bratwurst's method did not work on mine for an unknown reason.), buying an already modded system or finding a model 1 (oval button) Saturn.

    Best of luck to you.

    Another member of this board (ProgrammingAce) has stated that he reverse engineered a Saturn mod chip and figured out how to burn disks that will run without a mod chip. In other words, the burn will read and clear the verify checks just as an original pressed copy. The information is on his forums, somewhere. Unfortunately, I haven't gotten to look for the info let alone see if I can understand the method. My technical prowess is more than likely not up to snuff anyway, since he made it clear that you'd have to have a technical understanding of the process to utilize the information and defeat it.
    Last edited by Icarus Moonsight; 02-05-2009 at 10:04 AM.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  11. #11
    Strawberry (Level 2) Jasonbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    [darn, had a long reply typed up & lost it...]

    Thanks for you help & time Icarus, but this is too involved for me to tackled right now--swamped w/ other projects & life...

    Found racketboy's swap method for model 2s w/ an AR+ & it's got a ton of swap steps--pretty tricky.

    Wouldn't mind doing the mod chip, but they seem to be sold out everywhere... :\

    Thanks,
    -J

  12. #12
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just don't feel defeated. The Saturn is a well made beast.

    It didn't work for you because the system knew you opened the lid and rechecked the disk. That is why you have to fix the lid switch in the always closed position. Then the model 1's only check once. I think the model 2's check at more intervals, hence why this method doesn't work.

    It's not hard really, 6 or 8 screws and messing with tape and then you're done. A model 1 will probably be easier to find than a mod chip. In many cases, even cheaper. Your call man. Have fun either way.
    Last edited by Icarus Moonsight; 02-05-2009 at 09:36 PM.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  13. #13
    Strawberry (Level 2) Jasonbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm not scared of opening it up & taping the switch...it's the convoluted disc-swapping that's the buzzkill for me.

    "
    1. Start the Saturn up with the CD-R.

    2. When in the PAR main menu, switch to an official game CD.

    3. Now go to the start game menu, and hit C-button.

    4. Now wait and listen to the drive slow down,
    when you hear it moving again and speeding up, quickly remove
    the official CD and insert the copied CD.

    5. By now you should be in the CD-Player, if you were successful, the “Start Application” Button should look like the planet Saturn (with a ring).

    6. Now press the “Start Application” Button (or Start, same effect).

    7. When the Drive reads the inner track remove your copied CD and insert an
    official game CD. Now wait and listen to the drive slow down,
    when you hear it moving again and speeding up, quickly remove
    the official CD and insert the copied CD.
    "


    Oy!

    -Jason

  14. #14
    Shmup Hooligan Custom rank graphic
    Icarus Moonsight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas & Ancapistan
    Posts
    6,856
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That's how to defeat a model 2 apparently. Model 1's are way easier. Plus, no drive abuse. The system will stop the spin for you after the verify. It's so polite.


    This signature is dedicated to all those
    cyberpunks who fight against injustice
    and corruption every day of their lives

  15. #15
    Strawberry (Level 2) Jasonbar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Monterey Park, CA
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yah, I seem to have a model 2--that's too much work & technique & time for me... :\

    -J

Similar Threads

  1. FA: Atari 2600 Import/Non-U.S. Carts, Intellivision, O2 stuff
    By joesmooth in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-29-2008, 12:21 AM
  2. Replacing import Carts with translations?
    By dao2 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-24-2008, 01:35 PM
  3. Help with an import Saturn
    By MightySlacker in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-01-2006, 03:59 PM
  4. Import Duo and Saturn Recommendations
    By swlovinist in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-22-2004, 07:59 AM
  5. Name that Saturn import ...
    By Vroomfunkel in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-13-2004, 06:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •