Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Sega CD Model 2 AC Adaptor

  1. #1
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Question Sega CD Model 2 AC Adaptor

    I just got a Sega CD Model 2, but it didn't have the AC adaptor. The guy I bought it from said you could use any AC adaptor that fit it's specifications, not just an official Sega cord.
    Am I stuck with having to get a new cord, or is he right?
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  2. #2
    Peach (Level 3) izarate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    603
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you buy an AC adapter, the specs should be:
    9V DC 1.2A (1A will be enough)
    coaxial 5.5mm/2.1mm plug
    center negative + --@-- -

    You can use a Genesis 1 or Master System AC adapter, too.

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by izarate View Post
    If you buy an AC adapter, the specs should be:
    9V DC 1.2A (1A will be enough)
    coaxial 5.5mm/2.1mm plug
    center negative + --@-- -

    You can use a Genesis 1 or Master System AC adapter, too.
    What about model 1 NES power cords? It fits in the slot, but I didn't plug it into the outlet.
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  4. #4
    Great Puma (Level 12) bangtango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    4,345
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I believe the Genesis 1 AC adapter works in it. It is the top loading cd player, right?

    That would be the "official" Sega plug with the #1602 on the back in small print.

  5. #5
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bangtango View Post
    I believe the Genesis 1 AC adapter works in it. It is the top loading cd player, right?

    That would be the "official" Sega plug with the #1602 on the back in small print.
    I only have a Genesis 2 power cord. It won't fit, so I suppose it doesn't work.
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  6. #6
    Peach (Level 3) izarate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    603
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle15 View Post
    What about model 1 NES power cords? It fits in the slot, but I didn't plug it into the outlet.
    NES are AC. You need a DC adapter.

  7. #7
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by izarate View Post
    NES are AC. You need a DC adapter.
    Oh.
    Well, I guess I'll just go with the power cord for the original Genesis. If it's supposed to work with it, that is.
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  8. #8
    Peach (Level 3) aclbandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Columbus area, Ohio
    Posts
    718
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Genesis Model 1, Sega Master System, and SegaCD Model 2 all have (as far as I'm aware?) interchangeable AC adapters, so buy whatever is the cheapest of those three. DO NOT PUT A SNES ADAPTER IN IT, or you WILL blow the fuse.

  9. #9
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aclbandit View Post
    Genesis Model 1, Sega Master System, and SegaCD Model 2 all have (as far as I'm aware?) interchangeable AC adapters, so buy whatever is the cheapest of those three. DO NOT PUT A SNES ADAPTER IN IT, or you WILL blow the fuse.
    Thanks!
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  10. #10
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Okay. I got the correct cord, but it just sits in the port loosely. The port looks like it has rust in it or something, but it doesn't look blown. Both ends of the cord appear to be in tip-top shape, so I really don't know what to say.
    Any solutions for AC adaptor port problems?
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

  11. #11
    Banned

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hamilton, ON. Canada
    Posts
    314
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    CROM JR

    Default

    funny thing is i have a master system 2 genesis's and 2 sega cds and 2 of my plugs are finicky, like i have to bend the wire at the start of the wallplug a lil bit before it actually works...

  12. #12
    Peach (Level 3) izarate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    603
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The solder points of the AC port might be broken:


  13. #13
    Pear (Level 6) Kyle15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Gasshu-kun

    Default

    Those appear to be fine. The fuse is definately there, but the plug won't fit in the port. It just sits in there a little bit before falling out.
    In Heaven, everything is fine.

Similar Threads

  1. FS: Sega Saturn modchips (model 1 and model 2!)
    By APE992 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2013, 02:54 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-17-2013, 04:51 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 03:57 PM
  4. WTB: Sega Genesis model 1 and Sega CD model 1 complete
    By nesguy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2009, 10:44 AM
  5. Genesis Model 1 + Sega CD Model 2 + 32X = Stereo Sound?
    By Tempest in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-11-2002, 01:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •