Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: What happened to my Master System?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    90
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default What happened to my Master System?

    So that Master System I got a couple weeks ago? I just got to it, and lo and behold...there's a problem. It doesn't seem to be quite like any that our search engine came up with. Upon fire-up...

    There is NO:
    Audio
    Video
    Green power light

    There IS:
    Heat from the Model 3025 AC adapter
    Heat from the unit itself

    Heat but no power must mean something's going on somewhere in there, yeah? I did see a thread about a bad voltage resisitor in the guys. Does that sound like the deal here?

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It may the voltage regulator. I had the same problem with a famiclone and member ooxxoo or whatver helped me fix it. Later that day same thing happened to my MS. Heat but no power. Check the regulator with a multimeter.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    90
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ooh boy! First time with a meter. Anyone got whats and wherefores on how to use it this way?

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    know how to use a meter? open the MS up and locate the regulator. It will look like this attacthed with a screw to a heat sink : http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062599

  5. #5
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    turn your meter to the 20vdc setting and place the negative on the center pin, and with letters facing you the positive on the left, it should read 9v. Place the positive on the other side and it should read above zero.

  6. #6
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Appleton, Maine
    Posts
    540
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah I just checked mine and its 5v out, seeing as how it is a 5v regulator. Myself or im sure someone else on here would be happy to do it for you if you dont like soldering.

  7. #7
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Living in a Yellow Submarine
    Posts
    804
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeap!...Sounds like your SMS voltage regulator (7805) is dead....
    ...
    ...
    ζ Ξ Δ φ Ψ ς ώ ☆ ∞ ♪ ξ

  8. #8
    Banana (Level 7) fahlim003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The sinking old sanctuary
    Posts
    1,508
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry to bump this but I have a Master System that will not boot up with working AC adaptors and as I've read, mainly on this forum, it could be the 7805 voltage regulator.
    Using my voltmeter as suggested by gokugohandave I do not get a reading with Negative on centre (C) and Positive on left leg (I) with the logo side of the 7805 facing me.

    I'm going to pick a couple up tomorrow for the replacement however, I wonder if anyone could tell me what the white paste/goo was between the heat/rf shield and the VR? Was it thermal paste or something else, specific to voltage regulators.
    Whaddya mean invalid parameters?!

    9,000 gigs of ram and it still can't answer a simple question!

  9. #9
    Peach (Level 3) DogP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Manassas, VA
    Posts
    773
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just normal thermal paste. You can get a tube of it for around $3 at Radio Shack (and I think you can even still get 7805s there as well). You may be able to just scrape the old goo onto the new regulator as well.

    DogP
    Virtual Boy Lives @ Project: VB

  10. #10
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    No voltage on the input? Have you checked for a bad power jack / power switch? It may not be the regulator.

    I'd use your VOM to follow the input voltage, starting at the power jack, and see where it's disappearing.

  11. #11
    Banana (Level 7) fahlim003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The sinking old sanctuary
    Posts
    1,508
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy View Post
    No voltage on the input? Have you checked for a bad power jack / power switch? It may not be the regulator.

    I'd use your VOM to follow the input voltage, starting at the power jack, and see where it's disappearing.
    Yeah, no voltage - when no power is applied...
    All the same, I don't have a Master System or compatible adaptor to test this with. I need to go back to a local game store to test it again and I don't have the means to fiddle around with a voltmeter in there. For the record, if it's toast what should the reading be on the VR with an adaptor plugged in and the power switch respectively on and off?
    Whaddya mean invalid parameters?!

    9,000 gigs of ram and it still can't answer a simple question!

  12. #12
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Input on the regulator should be 9-ish volts. If it isn't at least 7.5 then the regulator won't function correctly. Assuming correct voltage on the input, output should be 5v, maybe even as low as 4.85.

  13. #13
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    I'm running into a similar issue. Checking the meter at the rear input shows 12.5. The regulator gives nothing. Using an official SMS adaptor.
    Last edited by Oobgarm; 03-07-2011 at 09:44 AM.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  14. #14
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    In both cases you have to follow the input voltage around the board to see where it's disappearing. Unfortunately I'm not familiar enough with the power section of the SMS offhand, and the schematic that I found online has a power section that doesn't appear to be the same as the production US SMS (it shows both +12 and +5 at what appears to be a power connector)

  15. #15
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    So I replaced the regulator, and now I get an input, but no output. The mind boggles.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  16. #16
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hmm... perhaps check for a shorted diode or other component near the regulator attached to its output.

  17. #17
    Banana (Level 7) fahlim003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The sinking old sanctuary
    Posts
    1,508
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Good news - swap was a success. I didn't probe around with the VM but in replacing the 7805 with a new one with fresh thermal paste it works without a hitch. A nice bonus is seeing Snail Maze is on this version too. I tested it out with the 1602 Genesis Mk1 adaptor which has slightly higher current but otherwise the correct voltage amount and setup.



    I found this SMS last week for $4 and the other day I scored the sweet (and enormous) Super Beta VCR which I was running the SMS through to test.

    Thanks to those in this thread for help and advice, it's appreciated.
    Last edited by fahlim003; 03-08-2011 at 04:56 PM.
    Whaddya mean invalid parameters?!

    9,000 gigs of ram and it still can't answer a simple question!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-2012, 04:20 PM
  2. WTB: Sega Master System Master Of Darkness
    By thegamezmaster in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-20-2012, 04:24 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 12:24 PM
  4. FS: Samsung Gamboy system (Korean Sega Master System oddity)
    By ClubNinja in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-05-2005, 10:58 AM
  5. What happened to Bandai's system and nec's system FX?
    By strongmanx in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2002, 11:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •