Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can you use a FAMICOM controller on a *real* USA NES? (Frontloader AND Toploader?)

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Can you use a FAMICOM controller on a *real* USA NES? (Frontloader AND Toploader?)

    Hi

    2 questions about the NES / Famicom:

    (PLEASE NOTE: these questions are about a GENUINE Nintendo-made system, NOT a NES clone)



    1. Anyone know if can you use a Japanese Famicom controller on a *USA NES* system?
    (the Famicom controllers that were NOT hardwired to the system, of course



    2. Will a Famicom controller work on a USA Frontloader as well as on a USA Toploader?


    Thanks! ^_^

    .

  2. #2
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    near Cincinnati
    Posts
    525
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The controllers for a Famicom AV will work on any US system. I don't believe the older models even had non-hardwired controllers. Given that the Famicom had a microphone built into controller 2, anyway.

  3. #3
    Crono (Level 14) Sonicwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC, Canada
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Sonicwolf359

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diosoth View Post
    The controllers for a Famicom AV will work on any US system. I don't believe the older models even had non-hardwired controllers. Given that the Famicom had a microphone built into controller 2, anyway.
    You are right. The original Famicom had only hardwired controllers.
    DERP

  4. #4
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,618
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There were some detached controllers, but they used the accessory port, which is only found on the Famicom.
    (I have a Konami wireless FC/SFC (with dual cords to the receiver) controller, but I couldn't get it to work on my AV FC.)

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have a couple of the "Capcom Soldier" pads (six button, designed for SFII) that work just fine. These guys say "Super Famicom" on them.

    They are actually what I use (via a USB adapter) for most of my emulators.

  6. #6
    Strawberry (Level 2) ccovell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    554
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You'll have to make your own cable adapting the 15-pin FC Expansion connector to the 7-pin NES connector, or attach an NES connector to a Famicom controller. But, yeah, both systems have compatible signals once the matching pins are connected.

Similar Threads

  1. NES/Famicom Toploader PPU video & audio mod
    By treismac in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2011, 08:38 PM
  2. WTB: REAL Nintendo NES Toploader
    By Scream And Fly in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 02:55 AM
  3. NES Toploader Controller Problem?
    By darkslime in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-31-2009, 12:56 AM
  4. FS: Sachen Famicom, multicarts,Toploader, R.O.B. and others
    By Canadianzombie in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-22-2005, 06:19 AM
  5. FA: Famicom Toploader + Dogbone
    By i.spotdeals in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-23-2005, 08:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •