Thread: Where in the world is SNES hardware/repair info???

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Where in the world is SNES hardware/repair info???

OK, I'm a hardware geek. I like building my own computers. I like fixing things when they don't work. I like building controller adapters.

BUT, I am completely self-taught and don't have a very sophisticated understanding of how these things work. I can follow instructions written by the likes of Jay Tilton and enjoy doing so, but I can't usually design the circuits myself.

Ordinarily I find info online and work off of it. Until tonight that method had never failed me.

Tonight I am surprised to say I'm stuck, in a spot I would have never expected.

I have an apparently dead Super Nintendo. Power it up, and there is no sound, and a black screen. Using the A/V out or RF produces the same result. I tried swapping cartridges, shaking, wiggling, and jiggling the cartridges in the slot, and the power and reset buttons, all to no avail.

I've tried the same power cord, AV cables, controller, and cartridge on a different SNES and they worked fine.

SO, I hit the handy-dandy Internet. I've searched the web and Google Groups for the last 45 minutes or so, and found NO useful info at all on this. If this were a 5200 I'd be drowning in information!

Looking at the bottom of the SNES, I can't even see how to open the sucker - it looks like the system is riveted together.

SO, does anybody know what may be wrong, and how to repair it? Failing that, does anybody know an elegant (sorry Sothy) way I can at least open the damn thing up so I can have a look?

Thanks,
    Steve

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

You sound like me, and my name is Steve too! Here's some links:
    http://labwww.csv.cmich.edu/luke/videogames/
    http://swut.net/snes.html
    http://www.thepong.com/Sites/Left/Nintendo/SNTech.htm

That's all I have.