Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Magnavox Odyssey 2 Help

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Magnavox Odyssey 2 Help

    I won one of these things off of ebay, and I'm not 100% sure of how to hook the thing up to a modern tv. Judging by the fact the manual says I need to connect it to an antenna seems to support this claim. I did a quick search on the forum and searched google, but I'd rather trust people that talk to me directly rather than copy/paste response. Do I have to mod my system or is there a more simple method?

  2. #2
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,471
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    There are two different types of systems. One has a standard Atari-type connector phono cable, which is hardwired into the unit. You can use an old fashioned switch box, but it's much easier to use one of these:

    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103471

    If it however has the nonstandard Odyssey2 connector that requires you to use that white switch box, it's best to mod it.

    Here are instructions on how to do so and exactly what I am talking about:
    http://www.ozyr.com/o2/tvcordhk.html

    It's rather easy, it's just unplugging a cord and plugging another in, now you can use the gold connector I posted above as well as switchboxes if you prefer for some reason. Here's a good one to use for the mod:
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103847

    Hope I could help.
    Last edited by Tupin; 06-24-2009 at 11:05 PM.

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    MachineGex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,599
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Thanks for the second link to the weird connector. I always wondered what was up with that cord and never realized it actually came that way and needed a special switch box. Replacing the cord looks easy. Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Apple (Level 5) Superman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,025
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That's some good info, Tupin!

    I just got a TV for my gameroom which will be for my older systems, including my Odyssey, which I haven't really played that much. Since the conversion of TV signals to digital, my new (old) TV isn't much use except for playing games.

    I hadn't heard of the F jack connector before, but it looks like it could work well in this situation. The switchboxes tended to not quite change over to game all the way, or they were finicky as to what position they needed to be in to get the best reception.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Tupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,471
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

    Default

    I use it for all of my RF systems, it really is a great little thing.

    As for the info on the Odyssey2 mod, I think it should be archived, as the question of the proprietary connector on the Odyssey2 seems to come up a lot.

  6. #6
    Banned

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hamilton, ON. Canada
    Posts
    314
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    CROM JR

    Default

    would you guys consider this system a must have for collectors? I seen one at my local store here, but again im only 27 and my first system was an atari jr so the odyessy never was my thing...

  7. #7
    Peach (Level 3) aclbandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Columbus area, Ohio
    Posts
    718
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MachineGex View Post
    Thanks for the second link to the weird connector. I always wondered what was up with that cord and never realized it actually came that way and needed a special switch box. Replacing the cord looks easy. Thanks again.
    This was actually the ONLY way I could get my Fairchild Channel F to hook into ANYTHING.

  8. #8
    Great Puma (Level 12) Steve W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DFW Metroplex, Texas
    Posts
    4,416
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    32
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aclbandit View Post
    This was actually the ONLY way I could get my Fairchild Channel F to hook into ANYTHING.
    The Fairchild Channel F has that kind of connector? I wasn't aware. Does the later Zircon unit still use the same thing, or for that matter the second version of the Fairchild Channel F?

Similar Threads

  1. Magnavox Odyssey
    By chusaku in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 05:39 AM
  2. WTB: Magnavox Odyssey
    By 3rdman in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2011, 11:16 PM
  3. Need help with Magnavox Odyssey
    By Scrimble in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-22-2008, 04:22 PM
  4. Magnavox Odyssey
    By Zadoc in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 11:04 AM
  5. Magnavox Odyssey
    By msdrahcir in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 02:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •