Thread: Vintage Game Stores in Maryland?

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Vintage Game Stores in Maryland?

I'm really new to Maryland(I'm staying in Ellicott City this summer for a co-op job) and I was wondering if there are any good places to buy vintage games around. I've tried a few flea markets, but they were barren of anything older than PS2. Are there any good pawn shops, flea markets, or actual used game storefronts around here(It should go without saying that Gamestop doesn't count)?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    7 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    retroman20/retroman21
    PSN
    retroman13

Power Gamer Glen Burnie Mall. Next to Toys r us. Dude i live in Ellicott City myself.

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I'll have to check that out, I haven't actually been to the mall in Glen Burnie yet. Do they carry Atari, NES, Genesis, Turbografx, etc or is it geared more toward the PS2 and 360? Either way, I'll probably give it a try since it is so close.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    St Aspartame

Power Gamer has a modest selection of Genesis and SNES titles, as well as a decent amount of N64 and PS1. Last I was there they had some good 2600 titles, but it's been a good while. There is another Power Gamer in Reisterstown, but it's more of the same I must say.

It's a shame, their heyday was earlier in the decade, as was Maryland's general selection of game stores. Unfortunately, it's mostly the land of Gamestop now .
    Welcome to Macintosh.

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Ah, that's good to hear. I was a little afraid it would be a Gamestop clone. Somehow Gamestop manages to take all the fun out of hunting for video games.