Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Help with Monitor Discoloration

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Help with Monitor Discoloration

I am a noob with this stuff, but willing to try anything.

Let me explain the issue as clearly as possible.

On my cab, it seems as though the red is intermittent. The red will go out, and then randomly it will come back in.

I think it might be a loose wire somewhere, as if I am getting into a game a getting a little hard on my buttons or joysticks, the red will come back in sometimes. I have not hit my arcade machine (even though I have thought of it), but I am 99% sure that the red would temporarily come back if I did that.

What kind of stuff can I check?

The very first thing I did check was to ensure that the jamma board was securely in the jamma harness.

After I check what you suggest, if that does not help. what else can I check?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    62 Posts

It could be a part (on the red signal circutry) going bad. Maybe just a cap. A loose wire would probally make the red either be there or not..or flicker, instead of randomly comming and going. Unless of course that's what it's doing.
    "Game programmers are generally lazy individuals. That's right. It's true. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Since the dawn of computer games, game programmers have looked for shortcuts to coolness." Kurt Arnlund - Game programmer for Activision, Accolade...

Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by SegaAges View Post
    getting a little hard on
    I wonder what a Sengoku Blade board runs for...