Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 392

Thread: SNES Powerpak is now available

  1. #1
    Banana (Level 7)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,503
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default SNES Powerpak is now available

    http://www.retrousb.com/product_info...products_id=84

    I have been waiting for this since I got my powerpak a year ago.

  2. #2
    classicus carnivorous
    digitalpress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Circling about overhead
    Posts
    26,331
    Xbox LIVE
    Digital Press
    PSN
    digitalpress
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    'Bout time! Love his products. I'm in line.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Flibbith's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    that looks pretty cool

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0) vrikkgwj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    146
    PSN
    OlieTheGoalie1
    Steam
    Vrikkgwj
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I think this is the closest I'll ever get to playing an authetic cart copy of Secret of Mana 2 on my SNES. Consider this guy bought.

  5. #5
    Pear (Level 6) OldSchoolGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Kelowna B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,255
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    37
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    OK, I am confused about the whole "lockout chip" option for this product. Could someone please break it down in simple/noob/moron terms? If I plan to use this on an original NTSC AMERICAN SNES what option do I go for? etc.....
    My DP Refs MaximumRD Classic Gaming and Computing Me in a Nutshell (NOT LITERALLY!) http://about.me/maximumrd
    WHERE DID THEIR HAIR GO?

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    112
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OldSchoolGamer View Post
    OK, I am confused about the whole "lockout chip" option for this product. Could someone please break it down in simple/noob/moron terms? If I plan to use this on an original NTSC AMERICAN SNES what option do I go for? etc.....
    You need to select the NTSC lockout chip option.
    If you had a PAL console you would select the PAL option.

  7. #7
    Reticulating Splines BetaWolf47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    2,810
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    IDK, that incompatibility list is pretty bad right now. I'd rather wait until they support more chips.
    Selling gaming accessories. Click

  8. #8
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    IDK, that incompatibility list is pretty bad right now. I'd rather wait until they support more chips.
    Does it matter? Don't they just update the firmware?

    This is great news! I love my NES version

    edit: why would someone want the "none" option for the lockout chip? - never mind, I read on the site, it's for clones

    edit 2: I see that the incompatible games are the ones that rely on extra chips. Will they need to actually install new physical chips in order to make these games compatible or can they just use software upgrades? I'd like to be able to play Super FX games.
    Last edited by c0ldb33r; 11-05-2009 at 07:13 AM.

  9. #9
    Banned

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    7,498
    Xbox LIVE
    achika
    PSN
    portnoyd
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    edit 2: I see that the incompatible games are the ones that rely on extra chips. Will they need to actually install new physical chips in order to make these games compatible or can they just use software upgrades? I'd like to be able to play Super FX games.
    Likely would need new chips. If software would be able to do the job, I doubt you'd need to get the DSP-1 chip extra.

    So basically, you can play everything you'd want except Super Mario RPG, both Kirbys, Mega Man X2/X3 and all the Super FX games. A decent hit to the popular games for the system, but isn't a deal breaker.

  10. #10
    ServBot (Level 11) badinsults's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Somewhere on planet Earth / #vbender
    Posts
    3,986
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BetaWolf47 View Post
    IDK, that incompatibility list is pretty bad right now. I'd rather wait until they support more chips.
    Um, to install chips other than the DSP series would likely require a complete redesign of the board to account for the voltage requirements. Really not worth it for the 25-30 games (mostly Japanese) that have special chips other than the DSP1. Note that hackers have managed to create a version of Star Ocean that doesn't require an SDD-1 chip (which was used purely for graphics decompression), and though a large game at 96 Mb, it will play on this thing.

    Personally, I think this thing is awesome, and I can't wait to get one (once I have a job )
    Last edited by badinsults; 11-05-2009 at 07:18 AM.
    <Evan_G> i keep my games in an inaccessable crate where i can't play them

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I just sent an email to the site asking whether they have plans to include the Super FX or other chips in the future. I also asked whether it would be possible to purchase a cart now, and send it back to him for installation of extra chips later (if they introduce them).

    I'll post the response if I get one.

    Looking at the incompatible games list, I'm really just interested in the Super FX and SA-1 chip games.

  12. #12
    Banana (Level 7) klausien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    Looking at the incompatible games list, I'm really just interested in the Super FX and SA-1 chip games.
    There's nothing wrong with keeping 10 games around with the rest of the library on a single cartridge. Think about it. It's still ridiculously awesome. Not a big deal.

    I can't wait to try this thing!

  13. #13
    Objection! Custom rank graphic
    Sailorneorune's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Henderson, KY
    Posts
    1,191
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Possibly stupid question - would it be possible to play Terranigma on a US SNES with this cart?
    Serving the retrogaming community since March 2005

    DP feedback: +47(!), no negatives
    can be found here: http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=66092

  14. #14
    Strawberry (Level 2) c2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    437
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Pretty cool! The interface could use some work, though.

  15. #15
    Reticulating Splines BetaWolf47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    2,810
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sailorneorune View Post
    Possibly stupid question - would it be possible to play Terranigma on a US SNES with this cart?
    Something tells me that you'd need a translation of the Japanese version, though I could be wrong.

    I don't get the argument here... a $40 clone that can't play four or five big games is crap, but a $125 cart that can't play twenty of them is garbage? That's a bit much for something that will probably be only used to play hacks and translations.
    Selling gaming accessories. Click

  16. #16
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    I just sent an email to the site asking whether they have plans to include the Super FX or other chips in the future. I also asked whether it would be possible to purchase a cart now, and send it back to him for installation of extra chips later (if they introduce them).

    I'll post the response if I get one.
    I got this response from Retrozone:

    Quote Originally Posted by Retrozone
    Unfortunately other expansion chips are simply not happening. They are far too complex for affordable chips right now.
    In another email, I asked whether the cartridge will be redesigned in the near future to deal with extra SNES chips.

    Quote Originally Posted by Retrozone
    The hardware will not be changing for years, unless a massive unknown hardware bug is found. In that case there would be a recall so you are safe!
    Given that their not going to change the Super FX chip situation, I think I'm just going to get one now. There's no benefit in waiting.

    edit: there, mine's ordered I ws afraid they would run out before Christmas.
    Last edited by c0ldb33r; 11-05-2009 at 11:14 AM.

  17. #17
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    467
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I can't seem to find any e-mail form. I wanted to ask about Satellaview-software compatibility (Whether BS-X/8M Pack or compatible slotted card/8M Pack, or Soundlink games).

  18. #18
    ServBot (Level 11) badinsults's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Somewhere on planet Earth / #vbender
    Posts
    3,986
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sailorneorune View Post
    Possibly stupid question - would it be possible to play Terranigma on a US SNES with this cart?
    You could play it, but chances are it would have graphical glitches and speed issues, on account of the fact that it was designed for a PAL snes. I believe there is a patch that allows you to play it in an NTSC snes without glitches (check romhacking.net?). Otherwise, you would have to do the 50/60 Hz mod to your SNES to play it without issues.
    <Evan_G> i keep my games in an inaccessable crate where i can't play them

  19. #19
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Evan_G View Post
    You could play it, but chances are it would have graphical glitches and speed issues, on account of the fact that it was designed for a PAL snes. I believe there is a patch that allows you to play it in an NTSC snes without glitches (check romhacking.net?). Otherwise, you would have to do the 50/60 Hz mod to your SNES to play it without issues.
    Would there be a Game Genie code that would fix this? The Powerpak has a built-in Game Genie.

    One thing I just realized is that I'm going to need a whole bunch more blank save files on this cart over the NES one. There are a lot more SNES save capable games than NES ones. I love my NES powerpak, but hate the way it deals with save files.

  20. #20
    Pretzel (Level 4) understatement's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    The Boondocks in Ms
    Posts
    941
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's cool I'll give it that but my PC can play all ROMs and a USB SNES controller is way cheaper.

  21. #21
    Pear (Level 6) wingzrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    When it's got 100% compatibility ile get one.

  22. #22
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    cleveland
    Posts
    285
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    action replay support would be better.
    then its easy to use codes that can be found easy in most emulators.
    game genie codes can be patched to the roms if needed.

  23. #23
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    cleveland
    Posts
    285
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wingzrow View Post
    When it's got 100% compatibility ile get one.
    silly wish it will never happen then....

  24. #24
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    cleveland
    Posts
    285
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by understatement View Post
    It's cool I'll give it that but my PC can play all ROMs and a USB SNES controller is way cheaper.
    nothing beats the real hardware

  25. #25
    Pretzel (Level 4) understatement's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    The Boondocks in Ms
    Posts
    941
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by acem77 View Post
    nothing beats the real hardware
    agree 100% (I only use ROMs for games I can't get like Star Fox 2 and what not) but this is not real hardware/software or it would be 100% compatible with all the real chips in it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2013, 05:38 PM
  2. Earthbound + SNES powerpak?
    By charles__99 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-29-2012, 06:56 AM
  3. WTB: SNES PowerPak
    By WarriorFan in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 06:05 PM
  4. WTB: SNES PowerPak
    By Neonite in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 04:06 PM
  5. SNES PowerPak vs. Buying Games
    By BacteriaInfection in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 08:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •